Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
these cookies were delicious! the best recipe i've found for this type so far... if you make a small change.. i agree with the other reviewers about the salt. i added only 1/4tsp to the dough and they were perfect. i especially like that this recipe calls for pwd sugar instead of white sugar in the dough. i think that it made the cookie extra melt-in-your-mouth. i also used ground pecans instead of almonds, that's the way i like best. a hint for rolling them in the sugar after they bake... roll once when the cookie is still hot and again when it is completely cool. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2003
I took everyone's feedback here on the first try and used salted butter with no more salt added (surely the amount shown is a typo?). I also decided that with the almonds and the heavy dose of vanilla called for in this recipe that I would make either true "almond crescents," which is a popular cookie, or true wedding cookies. So, I used only 1 tsp. of vanilla and 3 tsp. almond extract. I could not grind the almonds finely enough, however,so the texture of the final result was a bit too rubbery and bumpy with almond bits easily noticeable and getting stuck in teeth (at least mine), but this was probably my own fault. I'm sure that finely ground almonds would have enhanced my results (can you buy finely ground almonds? I cannot imagine grinding these by hand or machine such that they would truly be fine enough...the almond is very moist). The flavor of these cookies was marvelous! Everyone liked them. Since I bake cookies almost exclusively as my Christmas gifts, I appreciated the larger quanitity produced from this recipe than most others I see. So,a hit for this year means a tradition next year. Think I'll try them with ONLY the vanilla and pecans next Christmas (in addition to the almond crescents again). Thanks for a nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDDYMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahS
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I made 1/3 of this recipe and got about 15 cookies. I used about a pinch of salt. everytime Ive had wedding cookies (store-bought) I thought they were too salty. even with all the sugar though, I dont think they need that much. Anyway, after I finished rolling these cookies in the sugar, I realized that I left out the ground almonds. Luckily, I used almond extract along with the vanilla and it still tasted PERFECT, you couldn't even notice it was missing it. I ended up sprinkling the ground almonds on top, over the sugar. Also, I found it easiest to coat the cookies in a deep bowl, filled with the sugar, using a spoon. If you use your fingers (and the cookies are still warm), it will stick and come off the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahS
Living In: Ringwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
This is a delicious recipe. As I'm always too busy, the first time I made them, I modified the recipe and made half the amount (40 cookies, less to be tempted by!?) but at the end I wished I'd made the entire amount as they were so good! I put the butter and icing (confectioners') sugar in the moulinex food processor, added the vanilla and only a half teaspoon of salt (which was fine), then gradually added the flour as well and mixed all together with a couple zaps. The mixture became soft, crumbly and I easily formed the balls quickly, and rolled them by hand. The entire process took less than half the time, too and they were all eaten in 10 minutes by the family who loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melvindale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2006
These were excellent. My husband has always loved these cookies and I am by no means a good baker and he raved about these. A little tip... I scooped them inot a 1 oz cookie scoop and clicked the handle a few times to form perfect balls. No messy hands and they turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe produces an excellent version of this type of cookie. I reduced the salt to about 1/4 tsp and rolled them in 10X sugar three times each. I found that about 12 minutes produced the right amount of doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Someone get these away from me - I can't stop eating them! And I don't usually like nuts in my cookies. Other than putting in a teaspoon of almond extract and reducing the salt to about 1/4 teaspoon (I used lightly salted almonds that I ground in my mini-chopper) I made them as stated. I wasn't sure how far apart to place them on the cookie sheet, but they didn't spread at all, so you can really load up the sheet. I cooled them for about 10 minutes and then rolled them in the confect. sugar once, waited about 3-4 minutes and then rolled them again. I'm making these for a wedding - I hope they last until then! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
I thought these turned out pretty good. I made them for a wedding reception and they were very elegant. I used unsalted butter and reduced the amount of salt to 1/4 t. I also added 1 t. of almond extract for a bit more flavor. With a small food scale, I weighed my dough to about a half ounce per cookie and the recipe made more than 80 cookies. I made the crescent shapes, and they didn't "roll in the extra confectioners sugar" too easily, so I put them on wax paper and sifted the powdered sugar over them. Also, to finely chop the almonds, I used a Black and Decker Handy Chopper. It chops about a 1/2 cup to 1 cup at a time. Just have to run it for at least a minute to get the almonds as small as it will chop. Final Note: Not your average cookie, so don't expect the kiddos to go wild over them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldsjackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
This was a very simple cookie to make. I made the ground almonds by grinding up sliced almonds in my blender, it works well if you do it in small batches and scrape down the sides now and then. The cookie itself reminds me of a biscotti but not completely dry - it has that puffy airy texture to it. Very nice slightly sweet almond flavor, I think I'll try adding a little almond extract to enhance the flavor. I used unsalted butter and added 1/4 tsp salt per the other reviewers comments. They're very pretty and rustic - I plan on giving these as favors at my sister's bridal shower! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BunnyD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe. It was easy to follow and the cookies came out great. I did however follow someone's advice and rolled the cookies twice once when they were warm and a second time when they had cooled down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brook Park, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States