Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2000
These tasted way too salty! I would reduce the salt to a dash or 1/4t rather than 3/4t. I will try them again using much less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2000
This recipe produces an excellent version of this type of cookie. I reduced the salt to about 1/4 tsp and rolled them in 10X sugar three times each. I found that about 12 minutes produced the right amount of doneness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
This is the secound year that I have used this recipe. I love them. I cut the salt a little this year, I didn't notice too much salt but my husband said something last year. I think I ate these the most out of all the cookies I make. I just love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
These cookies were very fry and crumbly and didn't stay together when rolled into a ball. The flavor was OK, but I like them better with pecans as opposed to almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2002
Wonderful recipe! Easier to make than I thought. Used parchment paper to bake the dough on, and a pastry brush to brush chocolate on the top layer. If chocolate cracks when cutting, just fill it in with melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
These went over like gang busters! They are very delicate and are awesome in tea. They melt in your mouth!! I used walnuts instead of almonds or pecans, as those are the favorite in my house. Worked GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
These are really lovely cookies. Very soft and melt-in-your-mouth, with a heavenly almond flavor. I used 1 teaspoon almond extract and reduced the vanilla extract by the same amount - it really gave them a flavorful, delicious kick. And I listened to other reviewers and reduced the salt to 1/4 teaspoon - perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I love this recipe, however, I added more vanilla than what was called for because vanilla gives it such a good flavor. I also used pecans instead of almonds. I've made other versions of this particular cookie but I like this recipe the best and will make it every year at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Growing up we called these 'snowball' cookies, and this is a very good recipe. I like crushed pecans, instead of almonds - but any nut would do. The salt is excessive, unless you're using unsalted butter. I cut it for my second batch to 1/2 teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
these cookies were delicious! the best recipe i've found for this type so far... if you make a small change.. i agree with the other reviewers about the salt. i added only 1/4tsp to the dough and they were perfect. i especially like that this recipe calls for pwd sugar instead of white sugar in the dough. i think that it made the cookie extra melt-in-your-mouth. i also used ground pecans instead of almonds, that's the way i like best. a hint for rolling them in the sugar after they bake... roll once when the cookie is still hot and again when it is completely cool. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States