Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Yummy recipe. Remember folks, they aren't supposed to be browned, they stay pale. Cook for the correct amount of time, even if the dough on the top looks like it's not completely 'finished,' it is. Also I like to use pecans in them. But not ground. I buy the pecan halves & then slice them against the grain into slivers so they can be SEEN inside the cookies. Yes it can be a bit time consuming, I usually do all the slicing the night before I make them. Oh I have to add. Used 1/4 tsp Salt & then used regular salted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
It is a nice and easy recipe. Instead of adding the vanilla and the nuts, I just added Amaretto liquor. Instead of using "unsalted" butter I just used real salted butter (not the fake stuff) and instead of "rolling" the cookies in the sugar. I just put them in the bag and "gently" shake (like you are making chicken but much gentler) and then very carefully pull them out and put them on wax paper in a tin (after letting them cool) My mother cannot eat nuts, so that's why there are no almonds in my recipe. I have made these exactly as written (without rolling them in sugar afterwards) and they make an excellent cookie to put out with tea or coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becca Granato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
These are really good. They taste just like they are supposed to. The only thing is i left them in for the 15 minutes the first time around and they were way over done. Not black but they tasted burned. So i tried again and found that 10 minutes is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aryas_mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dowagiac, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Made these today because i was stuck in the house with my daughter who is feeling under the weather. So easy, so few ingredients! I only gave it four stars because 1. Too much salt!! Would have been fine with 1/4TSP 2. So darn sweet!! I guess that's more my own preference. So i left a couple aside for myself that i didn't roll in the sugar. Very pour-is so its great for drinking coffee or dunking in milk!! Melt in your mouth delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetheart_tricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
I want to say THANK YOU Chris for putting this recipe on Allrecipes.com. I grew up with these, & I haven't been able to find the recipe ANYWHERE!! My problem??? My Mother called "Danish Wedding Cookies". Needless to say, She was Danish. I adore these cookies! I tripled the recipe! We used to take the cookies, once they were cooled down & gently shake them in a gallon sized plastic bag with powdered sugar and place them to continue to cool. We did the cresants & round balls. Shake GENTLY in bag cuz these cookies melt in your mouth! THANK YOU, THANK YOU for giving me back my Xmas cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Caution, these cookies are addictive! They hold up great, so are prefect for shipping or giving during the holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKFisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I've been baking versions of these cookies for years, and though these are good, they aren't great. I DID like that they were more light and airy than the usual dense recipes but they also lacked flavor. If I were to bake them again I would add more powdered sugar as others have suggested and halve the vanilla, it just overpowered. Oh yes and leave some of the salt called for right in the cabinet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Awesome, easy and delicious! I had to substitute ingredients and they came out amazing! Used half white and half wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Absolutely delicious - I blended some almonds and it turned out really yummy. I wanted round cookies rather than flat on the bottom, so I'll chill dough next time and see if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CORINALAND

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Pretty darn good cookies! I used unsalted butter and cut the salt down by half. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly. They cooked perfectly after 17 minutes in the gas oven at 325 degrees. I made hundreds of these cookies to make favors for my sister-in-law's wedding. I hope they're a hit! I gave them a four because I find them to be not quite sweet or tasty enough, but my sister-in-law and the rest of the family loved them so it might just be me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States