Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
We used Earth Balance, a kind of vegan buttery spread instead of butter and it turned out great! Awesome for vegans looking for tasty desserts. It's a bit on the crumbly side, but that kind of comes with the territory. Wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
My grandmother used to make these when I was little & this recipe is close to it. We called them Mexican Wedding cookies or Besos de Nuez. I used salted butter & ommitted the salt and instead of almonds I used walnuts, they were delicious! The cookies were cooked & slightly brown at bottom at 15 minutes, next time I'll try 12. I recommend letting the cookies cool almost completely before dusting with powdered sugar otherwise the sugar gets warm & melts a little making it sticky & a little clumpy, especially to touch (but they still taste good). The sugar will still stick if you let them cool & they will have a prettier powdery look, then you can roll them again if you want. I used a ziploc & placed about 7 cookies at a time (be gentle). After I was done i put them in a tray & sprinkled more sugar on top of the batch. I found I used a lot more sugar for dusting/rolling than what was recommended, next time I wouldn't bother measuring for this part. Cover tightly to maintain freshness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Everyone loved these cookies! they melt in your mouth. Absolutely great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Members of my family have nut allergies, so to modify this great recipe, I substituted crushed graham crackers for the almonds and they came out delicious! Gone in a matter of an hour at a small dinner party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
These were excellent! I could not stop eating them! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
great and easy recipe. Our family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Just like mom used to make. Better when eaten a day or two after baking...don't know why. Used walnuts b/c almond allergy. AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by QQKris
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My husband loves these cookies. I only made few minor changes - half vanilla extract, half almond extract; hand crush sliced almonds so that we can see the almond when eating; instead of rolling in the confectionate sugar (which i did during my first try but turned out to be too sweet and messy), I simply sprinkled the sugar on top with a mesh coffee filter/sieve. They look a lot prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I love this recipe!!! So good. I did a few adjustments to mine. Since I didn't have any pecans I used 1/2 to 1 cup of Walnuts. I found that putting them in the food processor and chopping them very fine works great. I also didn't put all that vanilla extract. I used 1/2 teaspoon of pure vanilla extract. I also didn't add the salt and that was because I forgot. It still was amazing. After mixing all the ingredients, I placed the bowl with the dough in the fridge for 30 minutes so the dough will set a bit. It was easier to make the balls to put on the cookie tray. Mine turned out perfect in 20-22 minutes in a gas oven. They just melt in my mouth every time I bite one. They are so addictive! Great recipe!! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cm83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
These cookies are wonderful--I used macedamia nuts instead of almonds--absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States