Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Italian Wedding cookies, Mexican Wedding cookies, I had no idea they were also called that! I know them as Kourambie, a very popular Christmas Bisquit from Greece. Only one more week till Christmas and then the house will be filled with the aroma of these and other sweet delights, cant wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
My grandmother made wedding cookies for years and I learned from her. They are fantastic. But what she taught me is to use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening for the fat. It makes such a delicate flavored cookie. The all butter ones to me are too dense, I like mine to just melt in my mouth. Also, always pecans finely chopped. I have never tried this recipe, just giving cookie hints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Absolutely delicious! I added 1 tsp of almond extract and used pecans instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I substituted 1/2 cup of corn starch for 1/2 cup of the flour as another reviewer had said to do. It made the cookies so soft they fell apart whenever I touched them. So except for cutting the salt down the recipe is best as it is written. I've made this recipe many times as written and everyone has loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I substituted pecans and used my small scoop which expedited the process. I dumped the hot cookies into a pie plateful of confectioners sugar and tossed them with a fork. The texture was a little too dry but that could be pecans v. almonds. I think I'll go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I love these cookies! This recipe called for too much flour and salt so I used another recipe from this site. Thank you for sharing such an easy recipe to modify. Happy Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I would have left 5 starts had it not been for the salt. With 1/4 tsp they're great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly. Cookies are wonderful but I gave it 4 stars because it was so messy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Good recipe! I experimented with it a little by leaving out the almonds and mixing in Nutella to replace the nut flavor. I also only used a cup of flour and then put in 1/2 cup of cornstarch which I think made the cookies a little softer. They came out nicely brown and flavorful, and taste great with raspberries on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Very good recipe and this is an excellent "make it your own" type recipe. Use any nut you like just make sure it is very fine. I used almond meal the first time, and I thought they came out great. Substitute almond extract if you like, however I like it with just a hint of almond, so that people are asking, "what is that flavor?" So, I replaced 1 1/2 teaspoons of the vanilla with almond extract and that's one of my fav's now. You can make these into orange or lemon by using those extracts however don't use as much because I think they are too strong; use maybe 1/2 the amount and then throw in some zest to give that extra zing. Here's my favorite trick though, when I make the nut based cookie, I roll them in powdered sugar mixed with 1 teaspoon of powdered vanilla. AMAZING! I like the Nielsen-Massey brand which you can get on Amazon or at Williams Sonoma. For the lemon and orange, mix in some finely grated zest with the powdered sugar. The possibilities are endless. One more thing, since we all like to tweak things and make them our own, I tried substituting some of the flour for cornstarch to see if it produced a more tender cookie and I think it did. Replace 1/2 cup of the flour with the cornstarch and see for yourself. I also save my powdered sugar in between batches and either use it in the next recipe or use it again for tossing the cookies in. These are so darn addictive, baker beware!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States