Italian Wedding Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
At first I hated this cookie because it was so crumbly. It disintegrated when my teenager went to grab one and I gave it two stars. I thought it was pretty bland but you really have to give it time to cool completely before tasting. This cookie is better on day 3 so make it days in advance of your event. It's less crumbly on the 2nd and 3rd day probably because the butter solidifies a little bit. This cookie grew on me and so I'm going to try bringing it to our Thanksgiving cookie contest and see how people like it. I'll edit this afterwards to let you know. co-workers liked it. I did follow others suggestions regarding salt and making it 1/3 vanilla and 2/3 almond extract. I think I'll try just using all extract next time. I also tried dipping the tops in chocolate and my teen loved it that way better. I will also try putting a chocolate kiss in the center and see how that does in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I have had a few different people's recipes for these in my life, but these were the best I've ever had! Very nice and buttery :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nicolelynn

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very easy to make, and I made them according to the recipe and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
These are my favourite cookies in the world! My grandmother called them "Danish Wedding Cookies"... probably because SHE is Danish LOL! Anyway, I didn't have that much butter so I substituted shortening, and I think that's why mine flattened while baking. They still turned out DELICIOUS! I had a hard time with the hot cookies because the sugar melted and when I picked the cookie up the melted sugar burned my fingers... ouch! Instead of this, I used a salt shaker filled with the sugar to sprinkle on the cookies and this was much more attractive and easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaGuitar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiana, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2011
great for the holidays! EASY and quick to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
Sooo delicious! Made with both almonds and pecans and I cant stop eating them. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made these as favors for our vow renewal ceremony and they were delicious. I used 1 TBS vanilla and 1 tsp almond extract and they were unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Very nice cookie recipe and exceptionally easy to make. Only adjustment I made was to use salted butter so I then used less salt. (1/4tspn salt). I made my cookies really small so I wound up with alot of cookies and got tired of baking ! I decided to experiment with the dough and so I place the rest of the dough into a glass pie dish. Pressed it down and baked it for 10 mins. Once it cooled I filled it with chocolate pudding. So I wound up with very nice cookies and a chocolate pudding pie ! Next time I plan on using lemon extract. I think the combination of lemon and almonds will be exceptional ! thanks for sharing !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
These are favorites of just about everyone. I have to double and triple the batch. Yummm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gloucester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These cookies were great! So simple to make! I reduced the serving size because i didnt need that many, and used recommendations from reviews. For good rounded ingredient amounts, I scaled recipe to 27. Omit salt. Use 1/2 cup of nuts. Use 1 tsp vanilla & 2 tsp almond extract. Use mellon baller to form shape. Bake for 20 min. Roll in sugar when warm, and again when cooled. Made about 50 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States