Italian Wedding Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2000
I absolutley loved these cookies. They require 8oz's of almond paste in the recipe, but most paste comes in measurements of 7oz's whice sufficed just perfect. Go ahead and try them, there delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
to make this already wonderful recipe even better use Almond Filling instead of the almond paste the cookies come out moist and even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2000
HEAVEN ... tastes EXACTLY like the layered cookies you get at an Italian bakery. If you want to impress your friends & family, this is the recipe to go with. Not NEARLY as complicated to make as they look!! I will make these again, for sure!! The only thing I would note is that you don't need to use all the chocolate ... I found the top layer a little too thick ... made curring into pieces a bit difficult. I would use less so that there is only a very thin chocolate layer on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
WONDERFUL! Taste and texture of the bakeries on Long Island. I've tried a couple of other recipes over the past few Christmases. Although they were great, this is by far the best recipe. Soft cookies, perfect mild almond flavor! Don't change a thing in this recipe. The only thing I don't do as far as the chocolate is cover the top completely, but rather cut the cookies into long strips first, use a drizzler with melted chocolate in it and drizzle it along the tops and let it fall down the sides, and then cut them into the smaller one inch cookies. It can be messy and hard to cut nicely with the chocolate covering the top once it hardens (it cracks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
Excellent! If you cut up into pieces before the entire sheet is perfectly chilled, it makes it easier to deal with the hardening chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
My mother and I make about 36 different types of cookies for Christmas. This year this was one of the new recipes we tried and it was a HUGE hit! Absolutely delicious and very professional looking. It really isn't as difficult to make as it may look and it is WELL worth any extra time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2001
this recipe is great i switched the rasberry jam to apricot it is a better tasting cookie in New york this cookie is called seven layer cookies or rainbow cookies we use apricot jam for the filling it is better to use fresh almond paste if you can get it. i get it from my bakery it is a great cookie to make anytime of the year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stardoors
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a staple at Christmas each year. My family loves these cookies, and I enjoy making them. The last time I made them, I accidentally bought almond filling instead of almond paste, and they turned out delicious as usual. I used 12 oz of almond filling and added more almond extract to increase the almond flavoring. Another change I made was to add some milk and oil to the chocolate while I was melting it. I just use my small Pampered Chef micro-cooker and melt the chocolate in the microwave. With the addition of the milk, the top layer of chocolate cuts a lot easier and doesn't break. One last thing, I always line my pans with parchment paper to make it easier to remove the layers from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stardoors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
Fantastic! My batter stuck to the pan a bit, so on the last batch I lined the pan with foil. This recipe is a keeper. It's very impressive and easy to make, and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
An absolutely beautiful recipe! During preparation, I started to panic when I saw the texture of the batter. Do realize, if you come across a rather doughy, light and fluffy batter, you are on the right track, and this is correct* Have patience when making these cookies. My only regret with this recipe is that I was rushing. My top layer broke, but not to worry I used the melted chocolate to cover up the cracks. I also recommend Apricot Jam, and the recipe calls for one jar...do not use one jar of jam; Use a half a jar jam to avoid jelly oozing out of the cookies. As well as the chocolate, use it sparingly, to avoid a thick clumpy mess. And most importantly, allow your cakes to cool down. Or else you will have a broken layer cake, like what happened to me!! One extra tip...When your finished applying the layers, the chocolate, ect...Before placing into refrigerator for cooling...place a sheet of foil on top of cake...and take a heavy pan to give the layer cakes some pressure...You could also use a brick from outside of the house and wrap it up in a plastic bag, of course ensure the brick is rinsed off..this pressure will give your cookies a professional look, and compressed the layers, as seen in the photo above. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States