Italian Wedding Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Great Recipe! These cookies a great looking and tasting. I took everyones advise and only used a thin layer of chocolate on top. I had a problem separating the batter evenly into three. However, even or not they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Thank you, these are amazing! A must-try, it's well worth the work. My husband asks me to make them all the time now :) The only thing I did differently was use 7 oz of almond paste but that's the only size the store had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Delicious and a big hit with family and friends! I had never eaten Italian wedding cookies before and wasn't aware that they were more like cake. For Christmas, I made red, white and green layers. I also added a little Crisco to the chocolate to help it remain soft and greased the pans after some initial frustration with the cookie/cake sticking to the bottom. We did not find these treats dry at all - in fact, they grew more moist as they sat because of the jam between the layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
These cookies are excellent. The change I made was with the chocolate. I melted a bit of "Gulf Wax" (about 1/3 cake)then added the chocolate bits. I cut them in strips before I put the chocolate on. The cookies cut without cracking. They freeze well. My family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
These cookies were fantastic! Don't be afraid to put plenty of jam between the layers though! I was afraid it'd be too messy, so i used it sparingly, and they were a tad dry. Could have used more. Otherwise, the flavor is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Do remember to cut these cookies into small pieces. They are very rich. Like one of the other notes, I used 7 oz of almond paste. I compensated by using a little extra almond extract. The recipe makes for a nice presentation. I must say that while I was cooking the cookies, I was not very confident that they would turn out. However the final result looks impressive. I think next time I might also try a custard filling instead just to see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
WONDERFUL! Taste and texture of the bakeries on Long Island. I've tried a couple of other recipes over the past few Christmases. Although they were great, this is by far the best recipe. Soft cookies, perfect mild almond flavor! Don't change a thing in this recipe. The only thing I don't do as far as the chocolate is cover the top completely, but rather cut the cookies into long strips first, use a drizzler with melted chocolate in it and drizzle it along the tops and let it fall down the sides, and then cut them into the smaller one inch cookies. It can be messy and hard to cut nicely with the chocolate covering the top once it hardens (it cracks).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
to make this already wonderful recipe even better use Almond Filling instead of the almond paste the cookies come out moist and even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
SO GOOD! I'm pretty sure I will be making these again, because not only did they receive universal acclaim, but also I didn't get to eat enough because everyone took them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I love this recipe! They look so elegant, and are always a pleaser. I do however use 1/2 a bag of dark chocolate, and 1/2 bag of milk chocolate chips, boiled seperatley to give it some variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States