Italian Wedding Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were AWESOME! When they were finished, I simply couldn't believe I made such pretty cookies! I would make then a few days in advance, I had them cut up in the refridgerator and after 3 days wthey were devine, much better then fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stardoors
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a staple at Christmas each year. My family loves these cookies, and I enjoy making them. The last time I made them, I accidentally bought almond filling instead of almond paste, and they turned out delicious as usual. I used 12 oz of almond filling and added more almond extract to increase the almond flavoring. Another change I made was to add some milk and oil to the chocolate while I was melting it. I just use my small Pampered Chef micro-cooker and melt the chocolate in the microwave. With the addition of the milk, the top layer of chocolate cuts a lot easier and doesn't break. One last thing, I always line my pans with parchment paper to make it easier to remove the layers from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stardoors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I found this recipe a few years ago and never reviewed it...I have made it several times. It's quite good and looks pretty on a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good and fairly easy to to make. They are really impressive to look at and quited delicious. I would suggest spreading a thick layer of jam in between the layers and heating the jam is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
An absolutely beautiful recipe! During preparation, I started to panic when I saw the texture of the batter. Do realize, if you come across a rather doughy, light and fluffy batter, you are on the right track, and this is correct* Have patience when making these cookies. My only regret with this recipe is that I was rushing. My top layer broke, but not to worry I used the melted chocolate to cover up the cracks. I also recommend Apricot Jam, and the recipe calls for one jar...do not use one jar of jam; Use a half a jar jam to avoid jelly oozing out of the cookies. As well as the chocolate, use it sparingly, to avoid a thick clumpy mess. And most importantly, allow your cakes to cool down. Or else you will have a broken layer cake, like what happened to me!! One extra tip...When your finished applying the layers, the chocolate, ect...Before placing into refrigerator for cooling...place a sheet of foil on top of cake...and take a heavy pan to give the layer cakes some pressure...You could also use a brick from outside of the house and wrap it up in a plastic bag, of course ensure the brick is rinsed off..this pressure will give your cookies a professional look, and compressed the layers, as seen in the photo above. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
There are no Italian bakeries where I live in FL, so I used this recipe to recreate them. Wow!!!!! Comes extremely close the ones I had growing up in NY and NJ. I used almond filling because I couldn't find almond paste (surprise, surprise) and it worked just as well. One tip: be sure to take the layers out at 12 min, not to overcook them, otherwise it will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
AWESOME! I have tasted these cookies many times from the local Italian bakeries and I have to say these are just as good and a lot less expensive when you make them yourself. Per others I cut the chocolate topping back to 10 oz instead of 12 and that was plenty. The biggest challenge is cutting w/o cracking the chocolate. If you warm the knife under hot water is does cut through better. These cookies get better day by day as the jam soaks into the cakes. I also think if you waited a day for the cakes and chocolate to soften and then cut the sheet up it would eliminate the cracking issue. Next time I will take this approach. I chopped my almond paste in the food processer to make it easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very Similar to the store bought Rainbow Cookies in NY! Although I still think the ones in NY are better! I used a whole Jar of Raspberry Preserves, It looks like a lot but the cakes soak it in and it thins out. You MUST let these sit in the fridge for a couple of days in an airtight container, as with most italian food these get better in time as all the flavors mingle. Also, I did 1/2 of the chocolate and it was still a little to thick. Will make again but will use less chocoalte topping. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crocbar
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Such a marvelous idea! We've ordered cookies similar to these from our local bakery, had I known of this recipe we probably would have asked them to make them like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States