Italian Wedding Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I somehow made a mistake on the stars when i previously reviewed this...this is the recipe I have always used as it has a extra stick of butter...I sometimes use the foil pans from the supermarket and its a great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
These were AWESOME! When they were finished, I simply couldn't believe I made such pretty cookies! I would make then a few days in advance, I had them cut up in the refridgerator and after 3 days wthey were devine, much better then fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stardoors
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a staple at Christmas each year. My family loves these cookies, and I enjoy making them. The last time I made them, I accidentally bought almond filling instead of almond paste, and they turned out delicious as usual. I used 12 oz of almond filling and added more almond extract to increase the almond flavoring. Another change I made was to add some milk and oil to the chocolate while I was melting it. I just use my small Pampered Chef micro-cooker and melt the chocolate in the microwave. With the addition of the milk, the top layer of chocolate cuts a lot easier and doesn't break. One last thing, I always line my pans with parchment paper to make it easier to remove the layers from the pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stardoors

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I found this recipe a few years ago and never reviewed it...I have made it several times. It's quite good and looks pretty on a cookie tray.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
Very good and fairly easy to to make. They are really impressive to look at and quited delicious. I would suggest spreading a thick layer of jam in between the layers and heating the jam is not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
An absolutely beautiful recipe! During preparation, I started to panic when I saw the texture of the batter. Do realize, if you come across a rather doughy, light and fluffy batter, you are on the right track, and this is correct* Have patience when making these cookies. My only regret with this recipe is that I was rushing. My top layer broke, but not to worry I used the melted chocolate to cover up the cracks. I also recommend Apricot Jam, and the recipe calls for one jar...do not use one jar of jam; Use a half a jar jam to avoid jelly oozing out of the cookies. As well as the chocolate, use it sparingly, to avoid a thick clumpy mess. And most importantly, allow your cakes to cool down. Or else you will have a broken layer cake, like what happened to me!! One extra tip...When your finished applying the layers, the chocolate, ect...Before placing into refrigerator for cooling...place a sheet of foil on top of cake...and take a heavy pan to give the layer cakes some pressure...You could also use a brick from outside of the house and wrap it up in a plastic bag, of course ensure the brick is rinsed off..this pressure will give your cookies a professional look, and compressed the layers, as seen in the photo above. Bon appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
There are no Italian bakeries where I live in FL, so I used this recipe to recreate them. Wow!!!!! Comes extremely close the ones I had growing up in NY and NJ. I used almond filling because I couldn't find almond paste (surprise, surprise) and it worked just as well. One tip: be sure to take the layers out at 12 min, not to overcook them, otherwise it will be dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
AWESOME! I have tasted these cookies many times from the local Italian bakeries and I have to say these are just as good and a lot less expensive when you make them yourself. Per others I cut the chocolate topping back to 10 oz instead of 12 and that was plenty. The biggest challenge is cutting w/o cracking the chocolate. If you warm the knife under hot water is does cut through better. These cookies get better day by day as the jam soaks into the cakes. I also think if you waited a day for the cakes and chocolate to soften and then cut the sheet up it would eliminate the cracking issue. Next time I will take this approach. I chopped my almond paste in the food processer to make it easier to manage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Very Similar to the store bought Rainbow Cookies in NY! Although I still think the ones in NY are better! I used a whole Jar of Raspberry Preserves, It looks like a lot but the cakes soak it in and it thins out. You MUST let these sit in the fridge for a couple of days in an airtight container, as with most italian food these get better in time as all the flavors mingle. Also, I did 1/2 of the chocolate and it was still a little to thick. Will make again but will use less chocoalte topping. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crocbar
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Selden, New York, USA
Living In: Gadsden, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States