Italian Wedding Cookies II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This recipe is fabulous! I've made this recipe lots of times and I love making this recipe because I always get great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This recipe tells you to use a UNGREASED 9x13 pan. Cookie stuck terribly. I put it together as a smashed up mess. Ok for my six year old son, but kids would eat sugar right out of the bowl if you left them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
These are MARVELOUS SPECIAL COOKIES... I make them every year at Christmas time ,my platters always look elegant. I even made these delights for my daughters wedding favors, boxed at each place setting and decorated with her colors. DEVINE RAVES!!!! My only tip for cutting these.... after the cakes have been stacked and cooled, cut them into logs BEFORE you coat with chocolate leaving space between the logs, then cover all sides with chocolate...take your time as you see the chocolate begin to set, SCORE the top and edge where you want to cut and then let it harden all the way. This will insure your cookie will not crack when cutting. One more thing(I do this) I leave them in log form until I am ready to plate them, They always are moist and fresh even if I have made them a week ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
These were very pretty and impressive looking little cakes, but the taste was just ok. I lined my pans with parchment paper and the cakes came out easily once they were totally cool. I added some butter and a tiny bit of corn syrup to the chocolate; this allowed me to cut them without any cracking at all. These are a little time consuming but not difficult to make. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I love this recipe! So much fun to make! Everyone is always pretty impressed with them. I would advise keeping an eye on them in the oven, mine usually need a little less time than recomended. Also I highly recomend lining you pan with foil or parchment paper, I have no idea how you would get it out in one piece otherwise! Last but not least, as a few others I use the almond filling instead of paste, they always come out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Albertson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I thought these cookies would be hard to make but they were pretty easy. They soften after being in the fridge. They taste like the bakery version I used to get in New York. I would like them if they were a little more cake like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a simple, great recipe for Italian Wedding Cookies. Some tips: I use smaller, square pans which makes removal and stacking much easier. Like many of the others, I use apricot preserves instead of raspberry. I find that it matches up with the almond flavor much better and it's prettier, in my humble opinion. Try using a bread knife to slowly 'saw' through the layers if you're having trouble cutting them without ruining them. Have fun experimenting with colors! Today I'm making a Valentines version with red, pink, and white. For baby showers, do blue, pink, and white. They're gorgeous! Oh, and I also add a bit more almond extract that what this recipe calls for. Try using two teaspoons instead of one for a more flavorful cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Great recipe. Since I wanted a cake-like texture, I made two layers instead of three. I decided to cut the layers into cubes before applying the chocolate. I ended up with moist and delicious mini-cakes that my co-workers gobbled up. They couldn't believe I made them. KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This is amazing! Followed recipe, great success! Made this last Christmas, Big HIt! Everyone loved it, exactly the recipe I was looking for! Getting ready to make it this year again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Love, love, love the taste - my questions is - they don't rise at all so getting them off the cookie sheet is a challenge. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Neapolitan Cookies

See how to make this cute (and tasty) refrigerator cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States