Italian Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made 1/2 of this recipe to try it before I make it for a bridal shower this weekend. It is amazing! I used all butter, used 2 times the pineapple, but did not double the coconut. The bake time was perfect - it took just 35 minutes. I added a scant 1/4 teaspoon almond extract to the frosting and added pecans on the top after I frosted the cake. My husband said this cake is even better than my signature coconut cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
Amazing !!! This cake will be my wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
Delicious! but I did make a few small changes. Such as I used real butter instead of shortening/marg, I also only used 1-1/2 cup of sugar, 1c crushed pineapple drained, I also added 1tsp almond extract, an I used 1c of coconut. This recipe is delish! I make homemade cakes all the time it's definitely a keeper. The only reason I gave it a 4 star was because I didn't do it exactly. I felt it needed these minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I have made this cake several times and it is ALWAYS a hit. Follow instructions exactly! NOTE: It tastes better the next day! I have also frozen it and thawed it a few days later and it still tastes fresh!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
I've made this twice now and people love it...especially my husband. I would have given it 5 stars, but for the denseness of it, I didn't. The flavor is just like a wedding cake, which is also a more dense cake, but this was just a little too dense for me. Of course, maybe I just need to make it a few more times because i think it's one of those recipes that the more you make, the better you get at it. The icing is really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
i have made this cake twice the first time i forgot the baking soda which made it come out flat which was fine cause it was easier to stack but both times it was super moist and tasted so good. i had coconut haters even like it they couldnt even tell it had coconut in it. on one cake i ran out of time and frosting so i went to store and bought fluffy whip icing and used that on one and tasted awesome too so if u dont have time to make cream cheese frosting included in recipe try betty crocker whipped fluffy white icing with some nuts on top to decorate it will work as well and light in taste too. the only problem is it is alot of work but worth the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trish

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2012
This was almost too delicious! Subbed white wheat flour and it was still moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
Words cannot express how good this cake is! You would think that because the cake is so dense, it would be dry, but it was far from it. It was tender, moist and delicious. I decreased the sugar just a tad, added a little more pineapple and coconut and that was it. No one in my family likes coconut, but I made it anyway, just because I wanted to see if I could, and I did. You will not be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Oh my! This cake is fabulous! It was a huge hit at the soup supper where I served it. Next time I would put more filling between the layers. I was afraid I would run out of frosting, but there is plenty to put a generous amount between the layers (the recipe does not mention filling the layers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Holy Moly this was good!!!!!! I will use more pineapple next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami Shores, Florida, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States