Italian Veggie Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
YUMMY! and aesthetically pleasing. I did a few things different: I shredded rather than sliced my carrots (2 cups shredded carrots).. did not have broccoli so I doubled the sweet peas... used chicken broth rather than red wine and used 2 eggs rather than one. In addition I seasoned the sauted vegetables with lemon pepper, garlic pepper, adobo, oregano and basil (we love our food well seasoned)and used 4 cloves of fresh garlic rather than one. Only 12 rolls could fit in the 9*13 dish. Everyone raved (including the chef!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This recipe surprised me. I didn't think my hubby would like it, but he LOVED it. It was much tastier than I thought it would be. I did waste alot of lasagne noodles, however. My veggie filling only stuffed 9 noodles, and they weren't overstuffed or anything. So don't waste noodles by cooking the whole box. You can only fit 12 in the dish anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
I enjoyed eating these rolls, but I thought they were a little tricky to make. (I am not an experienced chef, so take that with a grain of salt.) I thought the lasagna was a bit difficult to roll, or rather, to fold. Maybe manicotti would have been easier. Also, 16 oz. ended up being way too much for the amount of filling I had. Eight ounces would have been plenty. But, nonetheless, a very tasty dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
Excellent!! One note -- if you don't like the texture of peas, skip them. I thought that they would blend in with the other veggies, but they tend to burst in your mouth when you chew them. Everything else was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this dish for friends who don't eat meat on Fridays during Lent. Man, it was great. The vegetables I used were carrots (came cut into skinny pieces in a bag), frozen peas, a red pepper, and broccoli. I added two extra garlic cloves and some dried basil, oregano, and pepper because of earlier reviews. I also bought large shells instead of the lasagna noodles, which turned out to be easy to stuff. As soon as my friends came in the door, they commented on the wonderful smell. The compliments kept coming all night. One friend (who likes mushrooms) said he might add mushrooms next time to make the taste of the other vegetables milder. I, on the other hand, thought the meal was perfect. My husband commented that the meal was not heavy like some pasta dishes can be. I plan to use it many more times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Takes a bit of preparation but turns out pretty good. You definitely won't use the entire box of pasta - half is sufficient. The second time I made it, I was too lazy to make rolls so I just baked it lasagna style - layer of sauce, pasta, veggie mixture, cheese, sauce, veggies... etc. Can't really go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
After reading through the reviews, I made quite a few changes to this recipe, mainly to do with the amounts of ingredients used. I used more mushrooms, garlic, egg and spaghetti sauce, and less oil and noodles. While cooking this my bf came out to ask what it was and if it had meat in it (both of us are meat lovers but I thought a change would be nice). When I said no he was like umm, okay then, thinking it wouldn't be great. But after eating this, he came and told me this is the best thing I've made for him!! He loved it and I loved it too, I highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
If I could give this recipe 10 stars, I would. A couple hints: boil only 12 lasagna noodles so you won't have extras left over; make sure the broccoli and carrots are well cooked if you're fixing for kids; use more sauce than called for, especially if you're planning left overs. These are definitely company fare...tasty and satisfying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by e^__^y
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
For dietary reasons, I chopped up some zucchini instead of using the carrots. My dad and brother absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by e^__^y

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
this is a fabulous recipe!! I froze half of the rolls to have later, but we ended up taking them out just a couple of days later. a new favorite at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kasson, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States