Italian Veggie Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
WOW! Sooo exceeded my expectations. Followed other reviewers' suggestions and used 1/2 box stuffed shells and it was very easy. As a personal preference, did zucchini instead of mushrooms, red pepper instead of green peas and spinach instead of broccolli with 2 eggs. Can't wait to make again - thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
These were ok. The broccoli didn't go over. Hard to roll with pieces of broccoli in them. Spinach would be a better choice. Not really enough sauce to cover sufficiently. I would just layer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Very tasty ingredient wise, and lends itself to all kinds of modifications to suit individual tastes...but I ask WHY mess around with rolling up lasagna noodles?? Rather stuff rigatoni, manicotti or large shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Made this recipe last night...it was great! Shredded the carrotts, added some chopped red pepper, one extra egg and some extra cheese. Served with marinara sauce. This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Great! I did not add the mushrooms or peas AND I added meaty sauce. It was GREAT! EVEN my kids ate it until the very end when I said what was in it. GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Husband and kids LOVED it! This is definately a keeper-I added 1/2 lb of pork sausage because I had some leftover in the fridge. GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsKilmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tiffin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
This was fabulous!! My skeptic meat-loving roommates were pleasantly suprised. (One even begged me to share the recipe with his veggie girlfriend) I dont care much for peas, so i went heavy on the mushrooms and other vegetables. After reading what the other reviews say about running out of the filling and winding up with extra pasta - i concur. Make extra filling because you will not be able to use all of the noodles. This was a big hit and i will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristin Monnich

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Takes a bit of preparation but turns out pretty good. You definitely won't use the entire box of pasta - half is sufficient. The second time I made it, I was too lazy to make rolls so I just baked it lasagna style - layer of sauce, pasta, veggie mixture, cheese, sauce, veggies... etc. Can't really go wrong here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocolots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daly City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My family just loved this, I will make again very soon. I made a few small changes to it. instead of chopped mushrooms I used crutons and omitted the onion in favor of green pepper. I added potato chunks instead of Broccoli and subsituted tomatoes and red peppers instead of peas and carrots. I also added 2 Lbs of ground beef and 1 Lb of ground pork. I baked at 425 for 40 minutes and then added 1 cup of cottage cheese and let bake for another 10 minutes. we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2007
I made this dish for friends who don't eat meat on Fridays during Lent. Man, it was great. The vegetables I used were carrots (came cut into skinny pieces in a bag), frozen peas, a red pepper, and broccoli. I added two extra garlic cloves and some dried basil, oregano, and pepper because of earlier reviews. I also bought large shells instead of the lasagna noodles, which turned out to be easy to stuff. As soon as my friends came in the door, they commented on the wonderful smell. The compliments kept coming all night. One friend (who likes mushrooms) said he might add mushrooms next time to make the taste of the other vegetables milder. I, on the other hand, thought the meal was perfect. My husband commented that the meal was not heavy like some pasta dishes can be. I plan to use it many more times to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Salsa di Noci

Discover how a special recipe can nourish great memories.

Baked Penne with Italian Sausage

This hearty baked pasta casserole stars Italian sausage in a rich tomato sauce.

Italian Chicken Skillet

See how to make an Italian-inspired, one-skillet chicken and pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States