Italian Vegetarian Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I cooked this as written minus the cheese. After 40 minutes the rice/lentils still had a lot of water so I just took the lid off and let it simmer until it thickened up. My food processor was too small to fit it all in so I just did the lentils and rice in there and then threw it all in my stand mixer. That worked fine. I don't love that they are fried but they are soooo tasty. What a treat! I can't wait to try them as "meatballs" or as a lettuce wrap. I have one in the oven to see how they bake up and it looks good so far. Update....I have made this several times now...all very tasty. My favorite way is to freeze them uncooked, individually packaged, and I just thaw them as needed. I cook them in an iron skillet with a little oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
One of my favorite veggie burger recipes. I froze some and took it with me on my vacation. They might take a while to make but are well worth the effort, thanks for the recipe. Edit: I tried making them into "meatballs" today and they were excellent. This is definitely a staple for me now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Absolutely wonderful. I added some fresh thyme and Tabasco sauce for extra flavour. I didn't have any Parmesan cheese but added 1 1/2 cups grated tofu for extra protein. I also chilled the mixture in the fridge for 1/2 hour to make it easier to form the patties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
My family loves these patties. They are addictive! We make the recipe as listed except we use regular lentils (we can't find red lentils). This recipe makes a lot, and we heat the leftovers up for snacks and for lunches. Great texture and nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Excellent. I'm not a vegetarian, just a lady lookin' for a recipe to use up some lentils. I made this as written, with the exception of throwing in about a 1/4 finely diced onion. I made small patties, like sliders. I served them on little buns with mustard & ketchup. I never said a word to my husband about what they "really" were. He loved them. Still thinks he was eatin' a burger!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are very good! I didn't have any rice on hand, so I used quinoa. It worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These tasted just like the meatballs I put in my sauce....did not expect that at all. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are delicious. However...I have the same issue that another reviewer did, though, in that the end texture is close to mashed potatoes. I fried the uncooked rice, as directed, then boiled and turned to low, as directed. When the cooking time was over, the rice and lentils were completely disintegrated, and the mix had the consistency of thin oatmeal. I cooked it down a little more, then added the crumbs etc. and stuck it in the fridge. I didn't see any point in using the food processor, as the texture is so fine already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My non-vegetarian friends at work devoured these. I have used them as an alternative to burgers, served as the meat substitue with mashed potatoes and gravy, and as crispy meatballs. I was warming one up for my lunch in the kitchen at work and one of the Board of Directors said "what is that, its smells better than our lunch!" Their catered, fancy lunch no-less. I make one batch at at a time and flatten them out into patties and freeze them uncooked, that way when I want one I just pull one out and cook it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a wonderful main dish for our meal tonight, a tasty and much healthier alternative to ground beef, which we almost NEVER eat any more. Such a clean, "meaty" taste and an added benefit of fiber. My husband even gave it a thumbs up. The only things I did differently were to add about 1/4 cup diced onion in the skillet while browning the rice, and I used Romano instead of Parmesan, because that's what I had on hand. After cooking the rice and lentils, I did have to cook down the remaining liquid, as it wasn't as thick as it was supposed to be, but that was no problem at all. This is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States