Italian Vegetarian Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
these are pretty good, and hearty for a vegetarian meal. i like them best made with short grain brown rice and brown lentils (cooked in the rice cooker.) i add dried onion and garlic and additional herbs. i also prefer to cook them with a bit less water (broth would be good, too), then the lentils were less mushy and needed less breadcrumbs to hold together. really good with a zesty marinara or puttanesca sauce and melted cheese, parmigiana style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeebee
Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This was my first attempt at a vegetarian patty, both making and eating. I have to say, I was impressed. I did use Italian bread crumbs, Olive Oil, reg. lentils, and Italian blend of cheese. It is what I had on hand. It made an incredible number of patties, which is good. Extra for the freezer. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gopintos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: California, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
Yum! Yum! Yum! I only used one egg, Italian seasoning and garlic salt. Barely any of the cheese. Fried into a patty. Served it to my gluten free husband with just the rice, lentils, seasonings and cheese. He even really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Couillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BevKat
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
Excellent! The best Vegie Patties EVER!! Bake 350F 20 minutes, then flip and bake 20 minutes more. I make bean patties all the time. They are good fast food. I slip 2 of 'em in a baggie and pop 'em in my purse. They are great right after the gym.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevKat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This was a wonderful main dish for our meal tonight, a tasty and much healthier alternative to ground beef, which we almost NEVER eat any more. Such a clean, "meaty" taste and an added benefit of fiber. My husband even gave it a thumbs up. The only things I did differently were to add about 1/4 cup diced onion in the skillet while browning the rice, and I used Romano instead of Parmesan, because that's what I had on hand. After cooking the rice and lentils, I did have to cook down the remaining liquid, as it wasn't as thick as it was supposed to be, but that was no problem at all. This is a keeper, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
My non-vegetarian friends at work devoured these. I have used them as an alternative to burgers, served as the meat substitue with mashed potatoes and gravy, and as crispy meatballs. I was warming one up for my lunch in the kitchen at work and one of the Board of Directors said "what is that, its smells better than our lunch!" Their catered, fancy lunch no-less. I make one batch at at a time and flatten them out into patties and freeze them uncooked, that way when I want one I just pull one out and cook it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These are delicious. However...I have the same issue that another reviewer did, though, in that the end texture is close to mashed potatoes. I fried the uncooked rice, as directed, then boiled and turned to low, as directed. When the cooking time was over, the rice and lentils were completely disintegrated, and the mix had the consistency of thin oatmeal. I cooked it down a little more, then added the crumbs etc. and stuck it in the fridge. I didn't see any point in using the food processor, as the texture is so fine already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
These tasted just like the meatballs I put in my sauce....did not expect that at all. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
These are very good! I didn't have any rice on hand, so I used quinoa. It worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittmichelle
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
definitely better when you cook the origional way that the directions suggest (on a skillet or grill) I tried them in the oven and they weren't as good, but they are phenomenal on the skillet..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States