Italian Vegetarian Patties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is amazing! I'm newly vegetarian and I'm so happy I found this recipe. I couldn't find red lentils so I used normal lentils and used sweet chipotle Panko bread crumbs for a little spice and these are to die for! Thank you for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I've made this a few times, and really like it. What I like most about the recipe is that it's very versatile. The first time I made it as directed. I've since made it with black beans, red beans, and a 15 bean mix. I used a cup of oatmeal one time when I ran out of bread crumbs. I have to be very careful not to over process the mix, otherwise it gets too gummy and you lose the texture of the beans. I've also found that 6 cups is too much water. 5 works just fine. This recipe is time consuming, so I make a double batch and keep them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Pretty delicious recipe, exactly what I want in a lentil burger. Only a couple qualms-- Like many others said, 6 c of liquid is WAY too much. Recommended ratio for lentils:H2O is 1c:2c and for brown rice it is about the same so with 2.25 c of rice/lentils, 5 would be ample and you could probably get away with about 4 and add a bit during cooking if necessary. I also did not really process the beans and lentils just because I prefer a more 'chunky' burger but they would certainly be delicious if they were processed like in the recipe! Other than that it looks really good! Forms together well which is sometimes a big issue for burgers like this. I added a few other spices like some smokes paprika and a bit of hamburger spice packet just because that's how I prefer burgers of any type to taste, but these are tasty enough without! These are INCREDIBLY cheap and easy to make and combining rice with lentils gives all essential amino acids so this is just as good as a hamburger or chicken burger in terms of macros/nutrients! Good thing to think about if you can't afford meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Like others I used onions, real garlic and a variety of spices. Yum! Going to be eating these regularly from here on out. Found them very thick and a bit sticky so they were hard to make into patties. Put lump in fry pan & cooked until i got a crust then flipped and could spread with the edge of the spatula outwards. Repeated a few times and got lovely patties no no goop on the hands. Tasty and texture great. Can't wait to experiment with other spices and a bit of hot sauce and......well you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this vegan, without egg or cheese. I'm sure the cheese adds a heap of flavor that was lacking in these, but they were still okay. I'm wondering if red lentils are really the way to go - my rice and lentils cooked fine, but were totally mush. I had taken the lid off after 25 minutes so all the water would be absorbed/evaporated by the end, which it was. The recipe says to process this mixture. There was nothing to process - it was mush. So I'm wondering if brown or green lentils were used in the original recipe. Those wouldn't disintegrate like red lentils. Overall the texture was similar to baked potato, which wasn't what I was hoping for. I might try this again with barley and brown lentils, which stay intact when cooked. I'll also need to compensate for the lack of cheese, possibly lack of egg if my lentils and barley come out like I expect. Also I followed another reviewer's advice and baked at 350 for 40 minutes - I made 10 dozen small meatballs with a melon scoop. So much better and cheaper than the frozen meatless meatballs at the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
just made this last night and though it took longer than 40 minutes (because the rice alone cooks for at least 40 minutes) I am extremely happy with the results! delicious and I will use this recipe as a backbone for many other flavorful patties :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
These were very good. I added a little green pepper and onion to the mix when I made them. Thanks for a healthy recipe my kids like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I have to eat dairy and gluten free so adapted the recipe a little. I fried some onion with the rice, used one clove of fresh garlic, and substituted the cheese and breadcrumbs for 3 cups of crushed Rice Chex. I also added a little fresh parsley. I blended about 2/3 of the ingredients but left 1/3 of the rice/lentils unblended to add texture. There was a lot of water in the rice/lentil mix so I left the lid off for the last 15 mins of cooking. The texture and consistency were perfect. I chose to bake the patties in the oven rather than frying them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This recipe works like a charm, I used regular lentils and forgot to put the rice, egg and lentils in the food processor together and it still worked nicely. Thank You Shecooks2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ralph

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
These are wonderful! They didn't take too long to make and were filling. I love the fact that they are made with lentils, yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVProBeauty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Rice Croquettes

See how to make a delicious Italian-style appetizer.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Insanely Easy Vegetarian Chili

See how to make a simple chili with beans and loads of veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States