Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I subbed spinach and it was awesome. Thumbs up by entire family. Will make frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This soup was perfect on a December day in Minnesota with a temperature outside of -5. I followed the recipe, but added a cup more of water. I also cooked the pasta separately. All of the family felt it's a keeper of a recipe - thank you Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I make it similar but I use canned whole tomatoes, quartered onions, whole baby carrots and a beef roast...leave out the garlic and the kidney beans and the tomato sauce and the cabbage...use some beef broth and add a big ole chunk of romano cheese for flavor....when it's done I drain it through the colander and chop the veggies (it takes less time once they are tender and cooked) I then drop them back in the broth along with a box of cooked orzo....man I can taste it now....my Italian father in law keeps the veggies and meat on a platter and serves them as a side to the broth and orzo...add a big slice of buttered Italian crusty bread and you will be in heaven..sorry it's practically a whole different recipe but it is gooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Tried this a couple of weeks ago does make a lot - so good, if you want to share. I also used a can of beef broth and undercooked the macaroni some so would not be so mushy upon re-heating. Used 1 can of black beans & 1 kidney. Was much better the 2nd day as flavors had a chance to meld. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I tried this recipe several years ago at my mom's house one cold winter afternoon. It's the best soup she ever made, but I thought she had cleaned out the fridge and just thrown everything in the pot. I was so happy to find there was actually a recipe and I could make it just like that again! My family loves it, I always share with neighbors because I double the recipe. I make it for big groups and I get raves everytime I make it. We sprinkle fresh shredded Parmesan on top when serving. This is our all-time favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
This is very close to my family recipe for minestrone! Being pure italian, I'd avoid putting in corn and garlic. Instead of kidney beans, I'd use borlotti, which are proper italian and give it all a full taste. To avoid small kids or fussy eaters complaining, I'd blend the soup and put rice or pastina. And buon appetito! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Fantastic recipe!!! I tried it a few weeks ago without any doctoring(without the cabbage, I really don't like cabbage!)and it turned out fantastically well!! Thanks so much for this wonderful recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Excellent!!! However it does need more liquid so I added four cups of beef broth. It does make a LOT of soup... in fact, it fills a five and half quart dutch oven. I've made this three times already this winter. It's a healthy, delicious soup and I think everyone would enjoy on a cold winter day....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was a delicious soup. I had to add about 4 cups of water as it was so thick. I added other pasta as I was out of macaroni. This worked fine, but turned to mush when I reheated leftovers. Best to cook pasta separately and add fresh to each cup of soup. This freezes well. I was happy to find it on a cold day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by charrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sonoma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I made this almost exactly as written and it was fantastic. We truly enjoyed this soup- for several days as a matter of fact. The only difference I made was that I boiled the pasta separately and added to the individual bowls to keep it from absorbing all of the wonderful broth. This is definitely on the rotation!!!! Thanks you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States