Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I had to make a few substitutions: ground turkey instead of ground beef, jarred marinara sauce instead of tomato sauce and herbs, veggie broth instead of beef bouillon and water, and white beans instead of kidney beans. I didn't have any celery but I did add 1-2 cups chopped kale. This soup can be easily modified and still taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Very good soup. I followed the recipe exact except for adding some red pepper flakes to spice it up. We like things spicey. We will definitely make this again! Thanks Jackie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This soup has a very nice blend of veggies and pasta to make a great meal. The main change needed is extra liquid. I used water and extra spices as I followed the recipe as written and didn't have extra broth. Next time I will add either extra broth, tomato juice or sauce. I like the extra liquid as I think it freezes better when the veggies are covered in liquid. I used little shells for the pasta. All in all a great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
This was a delicious full soup. I didn't have any macaroni so I used whole wheat shells instead. Looking forward to the left overs for lunch and possibly another dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
One of my absolute favorite soup recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jamers9050
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Took some prep time, but worth it for the taste and appearance. So many veggies! I made the entire soup the day before I needed it, letting it simmer for maybe 1/2 hour or more. Next day, put back in soup pot and simmer until its hot. Very good flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This recipe is easy to prepare and very tasty. I added a TS of black pepper and a little extra on the other seasonings. I also used salt added diced tomatoes thinking that the no salt option would be too bland. I don't mind the veggies to be a little crisp in soup, but if you prefer them softer I recommend you saute the onions, carrots and celery a bit before adding the tomatoes and water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
This recipe might be a good starting point, but because I had to add so much extra water, the broth turned out very bland and tasteless. I added more beef boullion (ran out of beef broth), but I should have added more tomatoes and spices as well. I did that when I reheated for lunch today, and it was better. I think I will stick to my Italian Sausage Soup recipe and just add more veggies to make it "Italian Vegetable Soup." We like the flavor of the sausage more than the hamburger anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Hope, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This is a hardy soup that you can change up easily with whatever vegetables you have on hand. I used ground turkey and fresh green beans, frozen roasted corn from Trader Joe's... followed other directions... will make again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
This was incredibly good... I took out the beans and corn because I don't like them... switched spinach in for cabbage, added two cans V8 juice, and cooked the macaroni seperately- adding it at the end. It was amazing, especially with French bread. Definitely will make again. Easy and perfect for freezing in small lunch containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 360) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States