Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
Wow - this soup is sooo good! I've never been much of a soup person, but this recipe has got me wanting to make them more often. It's very filling and I feel good about eating it because it's so healthy. I did make some slight modifications. I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of 2; Replaced beef bouillion and water with 4 cups of prepared beef broth; drained the corn and beans; and omitted the pasta. I followed the rest according to instructions. I served the soup over brown rice which was super tasty! I didn't want to include the pasta because I'm planning on eating this throughout the week and didn't want the pasta to get mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I use beef broth instead of water and boullion. I can't stop eating this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I made this recipe and thought it was excellent. I only gave it 4 stars though because I did have to double up on the spicing - once this was done it was fantastic. I also had to add more water; otherwise it was more of a stew with very little liquid (it does say to add more water if necessary but I can't see how you could not!)! It was pretty quick to prepare because I didn't have to make little meatballs. Also, I am trying to feed my family a little less meat and I used 3/4 pound of ground beef. You could get away with 1/2 a pound and definitely use ground chicken or turkey instead. My teenage boys loved it and even had it for breakfast - low fat (make sure you use extra lean meat), high protein and lots of veggies. Just what we're supposed to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
very good soup perfect for a cold winters day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIMBA1969

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
cut down on the water and used a large can of beef broth instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
easy to make with ingredients I had on hand. So---used water in place of broth & bouillon, diced Italian toms, one can red beans, no green beans, spinach instead of cabbage. Excellent week night meal after a busy work day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I loved this recipe, I used ground turkey and potatoes instead of macaroni, I also did not have any cabbage so I did not use that. Oh and we added some frozen mixed veggies in, and it was a great addition, plus turkey stock I had frozen from our turkey at Thanksgiving and no water just the stock, I think that is why it has great flavor we have been eating it for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Sooooooooooo tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
This is a great vegetable soup. Personally I think I would have left out the ground beef. Not that I'm a vegetarian, there was just this wonderful smell that it wouldn't have been missed. Next time I think that's what I'll do. I also added tomato juice for the extra liquid. A great stoup! thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Made this today, except subbed ground bison for the beef (barely any fat!) and I doubled all ingredients. I don't understand how anyone said it was bland! I put in the exact amount of spices & it is very hearty! Maybe the bison added a better flavor?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariefnp1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salem, New Hampshire, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States