Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Oh my goodness, SO GOOD! This is definitely going in my family recipe box! I cooked the soup according to instructions, but with these variations: I added 32 oz. of beef stock in addition to the water, used 5 garlic cloves instead of 2, seasoned with fresh ground salt and pepper and 1/2 tsp. red pepper flakes (could use more) with the other seasonings, and sliced 1 small zucchini in with the corn and green beans. I also cooked the macaroni on the side, but I think I will omit it next time. My family loved it and it is perfect for the upcoming fall/winter season. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I found this recipe while looking for a vegetable soup recipe. I don't consider it a true vegetable soup since it calls for ground beef, but it sounded good and simple, so I just went with it. I substituted italian sausage for the ground beef, and instead of a can of diced tomatoes I just cut up a big bowl of late summer, homegrown juicy tomatoes, but other than that I stuck to the recipe. We all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Ferguson Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutherfordton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
What a fabulous meal in a bowl! I was missing some ingredients so I made some improvisation. I used ground chicken instead of beef, baked beans instead of kidney beans, and frozen green beans instead of canned ones. Like others, I found it needed a lot more water - 6-8 cups instead of 2. I didn't have any crusty Italian bread to serve this with, so I made some pita chips (split the pita open, spray with oil spray, sprinkle with granulated garlic and/or zaatar, cut into wedges and bake until they begin to toast) and used them. It was a fantastic combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Excellent soup, used lean beef tips in place of ground beef. It made enough for several meals for two. Great to freeze. Used pinto beans since that was what I had, plus like them better. Thank you, in my recipe box forever !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
Unbelievably good! Actual recipe is great as a main course as it's thick with the meat, pasta and all the veggies. I added a can of beef boullion and more water as I added veggies to make it a soup. Outstanding both ways! The broth is to die for. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
We love soups all through the year. I'm going to start this one now for the second time. I was hesitant at first because I usually bypass a long list of ingredients. But it has everything in it that we like. I like a soup with substance and this one certainly has that. The only changes I made was replacing the cabbage with potatoes and adding 4 cups more water. This is just personal preference and did nothing to change the delicious taste. Thanks for this recipe, Jackie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Super yummy! I used stewed tomatoes instead of diced and accidentally added twice as much oregano. This turned out delicious and I definitely recommend. Like another reviewer, I cooked the macaroni separately and added it into each bowl so that it didn't get too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
It's like chile with more vegetable in it, I add some turkish sucuk oh it was great. Great recipe my hubby enjoyed it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gbv239
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
WONDERFUL. I used vegetable broth to add a little more juices and I didn't have tomato sauce so I used tomato purée. But this a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States