Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
Absolutely delightful and definitely hearty. Flavors are not real powerful, but they blend nicely. Made the full recipe for the two of us and packaged the rest for the freezer, so I followed a tip and cooked the pasta separately (just enough for two). Do yourself a favor and leave the house for a minute and enjoy the aroma when you come back in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by harp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was very tasty and my family enjoyed it. I didn't have cabbage on hand so I left it out. I must say though that it would have been a great addition. As I was making this I wondered how it would be enough liquid to make it a soup and it wasn't. It was more of a stew. I was tempted to add some more broth after the fact but it was yummy as a stew so why bother? I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was a very good soup! The second time I made it I followed some suggestions of others and added cheese tortellini (from the refrigerated section) and about 3/4 cup of spaghetti sauce, those enhancements bring it to a 5 star rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Loved it! Used Herbox beef instant bouillon. Lightly sauteed the celery, onion, carrots and garlic before adding to the soup pot. Used fresh green beans (had them in the fridge) Didn't use the corn or cabbage (didn't have them available). It was so delicious!! And I agree with another reviewer - tastes a lot like Olive Garden soups (which I like, especially their pasta e fagioli soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
It was very easy and the whole family enjoyed it. I just browned the meat and put it all in the crockpot. Was great and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have never liked vegetable soup but I realized last night it's because I have only had the canned vegetable soup. This was great, I did use 24oz of beef stock instead of water and added 1 tablespoon of garlic powder as LGREEN2 suggested. Also did not use corn or macaroni. My wife loved it also so I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is a great, hearty soup for the winter. Easy to make and the flavor was better the second day. I used all of the ingredients but I don't measure when it comes to soup so I add lots of carrots, celery, etc. Also I used frozen vegetables instead of canned. It was too thick for me so I added extra beef stock. CarolL-CA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I have always loved my mother's vegetable soup recipe but this is a much easier recipe and tastes almost the same! My only change was that I sautéed the mirepoix first in a little olive oil until the onion was translucent then added the garlic for 30 seconds before adding the beef. After draining some of the fat (not much since I used 90% lean), I added the rest of the ingredients in Step 1, opting to use beef broth instead of water and bouillon. I then let it simmer for about an hour and a half. I added the cabbage and green beans during the last 15 minutes (omitted the corn because of a family food allergy) and cooked the pasta separately (so that I could control the doneness) adding that just before serving. I did not have to adjust any of the seasonings except I did use a little salt and pepper since I used all low-sodium canned ingredients. After reading the other reviews, I agree that you have to use more liquid. I started out with 2-3 cups of broth then ended up adding another 2 ½ cups towards the end. It is more like a stew that a soup but totally delicious and very hearty. This is not a wimpy vegetable soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe. Added homemade veggie broth and mushrooms to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Yummy! I took the advice of another reviewer and added some hot turkey sausage and a little crush red pepper. It was delicious! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Italian Sausage Soup

A hearty winter soup with sausage, white beans, zucchini, and spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States