Italian Vegetable Soup with Beans, Spinach & Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This is a great soup. I just added a small jar of pesto (I doubled it for a potluck) and it wasn't too much. I also added sour cream to my son's to cool it off and it actually tasted like a very yummy cream soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
WOW! This soup has such a depth of flavor it is amazing! I did use 5 cloves garlic, allowed soup to simmer for a few hours and stirred about 6 spoonfuls of pesto into the soup just before taking off the heat as suggested by a few other reviewers (do not add canned white beans until 15 - 20 minutes before end of cook time or they will break down). I made soup 1 day ahead so the flavors had ample time to marry and develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunwithFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Living In: Union, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
A spectacular recipe! I was running late and the kids were starving but this came together in a flash. I admit I was worried it would taste bland but the pesto made all the difference. Heed the comments below about making the potatoes/pasta separately so you can freeze it because unless you are feeding a group of people you are going to have soup left over. While I loved it with the potatoes I'll bet it will be good with pasta too so I'll try that next time. This one's a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Yummy! Excellent soup, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This was a great soup! The flavors melded really well together. I didn't put in the carrots (didn't have any) and forgot the peas but, it didn't harm the flavor at all. I didn't use the canned beans and soaked my own. Next time, I will use maybe 4 cups more of liquid because the beans and potatoes soaked up what I did put in. Also, like others, I used Italian seasoning. I will definitely be making this for many winters to come! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
A very good vegetable rich soup choice. Love the addition of pesto!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama of four

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Nothing special. If anything, we felt that there is too much going on in this soup. Nothing stands out because there like 20 things in it. I did however make my own vegetable stock first, which was awesome; as always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
My husband and I reallyliked this recipe. I added the pesto right in, and added some chopped yellow squash, green onions and hamburger. I will be making this again for our next family gathering. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
This was a good basic recipe that needed "something" Hubby and I liked it but felt that it was missing something that we couldn't figure out. It was a little bland. I added garlic to the onion when cooking and added some parmesan cheese too. Will make again but will probably change up a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama to JRG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Wasn't sure if I would like this because there is no meat in it... but WOW!! Fantastic! Omitted the potatoes and added cooked whole wheat orzo pasta like other reviewers. I am going to eat all 10 servings myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ebensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States