Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added frozen peas & corn. Next time I'll leave the kidney beans out. Tasted very good. Minus the Kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this recipe but used chicken broth and chicken bouillon. I omitted the green beans because I didn’t have any. And I used mini bow tie pasta and cooked it separately. This was a nice vegetable soup and easy to throw together. One can of kidney beans seemed a little sparse, so next time I’ll add a second can. UPDATE 1/17/14: I made this again as follows: I used chicken broth and chicken bouillon as before, the tomatoes, 1 cup each of carrots, celery and pearl onions, no green beans, macaroni, or beans. I used two zucchini and one yellow summer squash. Great flavor and really low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I wanted to leave a review since I just warmed this up for lunch after making it for dinner last night...even better the second time around!! I used fresh string beans and organic canned veggies and added corn plus used veggie pasta instead of macaroni and it turned out fabulous! I doubled the recipe and am so thankful I did since I wil be hapy to eat this for lunch all week long....thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunnerkel
Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good base soup. Not sure if it was the fact that I double the quantity or that fact that I used reduce/sodium-free canned ingredients (where asked for), but I found it to be rather bland. I double, in some cases tripled the herbs/spices, to get some of the flavors to pop out. Overall, soup was a success both at home and in the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
When I make this I end up eating it for breakfast the next day too! Make it healthy by using organic beef and vegetable stock and organic crushed tomatoes, and fresh veggies. I skipped the carrots, celery, and noodles and used zucchini and yellow squash. I also substituted the kidney beans for cannallini beans or lentils (just a few). Also I had fresh rosemary on hand so that worked nicely when chopped up really small. One of my favorite soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancy217
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Excellent recipe! I didn't have italian sausage so I substitued Kielbasa. I also used chicken bouillon instead of vegetable broth. Spiced up a little extra to my taste, and it was loved by all. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Loved this as a low calorie, vegetarian, easy, filling meal. Soups are great to tweak to personal taste. My personal taste is to use 3 carrots and 2 zucchini and 3 cloves of garlic. I also used macaroni alphabet pasta to entice my kids. DO NOT substitute anything for pearl onions, nothing else will do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keeperathome

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
This was soup was meh. I substituted fresh tomatoes and green beans since I try to use canned food as little as possible. Regardless, it was nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by havenleah

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ieatwithgusto
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This soup completely hit the spot. So filling and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ieatwithgusto

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gansevoort, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I'd have to say this is the best Vegetarian soup that I have made yet. The only thing I did different was leave out the zucchinis because we didn't have any left. We had seconds! Next time, I'll be adding more noodles (I love noodles) and only half a can of beans. The soup kept very well and even better the next day. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evenparabola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States