Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
I loved it. I put a few slices of chopped deli ham in and fresh tomatoes instead of canned. A pinch of red pepper flakes & dried jalapeños for kick. A very adaptable recipe. Beth
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elena Vasquez
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Cooked it many times!! Loved it every time, and I'm obsessed with it now!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
There was no broth left- just a soggy mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
LOVED this soup, I modified it though, with what I had on hand. Since I had a busy day ahead, I threw all ingredients in the crock pot. I used beef broth instead of vegetable broth. Also, I didn't add kidney beans, as my husband doesn't care for them. Otherwise, everything else I added as directed. I added elbow macaroni an hour before serving. We had a salad and dinner rolls hot out of the oven to complete the meal. There is plenty leftover to have again tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was quite good soup but I didn't realize it would be so tomato-y. It was basically tomato vegetable soup and that's not what I was looking for. However it turned out really good, was extremely easy to make and hubby loved it. It made way too much for just one meal and he did not love it enough to eat it for lunch so it was wasted but still, a very good soup for those who like tomato soup with a lot of healthy veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Easy, healthy and everyone liked it. I added flank steak and doubled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mia Maudlin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I added this to my recipe box a month or so ago and have already made it twice. Vegetarians and carnivores both love it. I added a large can of tomato sauce and an extra can of kidney beans. I omit the pearl onions and chop and sauté an onion with the celery, carrots, and some garlic in a bit of olive oil. I leave out the zucchini just because I think it starts looking kinda sad on reheating the soup. If your carnivores insist on meat, slice and cook some chicken sausage Italian sausage in another pan and them have them add it their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loved this soup! I used vegetable bouillon cubes & 12 cups of water to make my own broth in a crock pot. Some things I substituted, like I used whole peeled tomatoes cut up, a can of tomato sauce, fresh green beans, a whole yellow onion cut into quarters, & italian seasoning. I did not use macaroni, but later I added some ground beef & barley and it was incredibly delicious & healthy. I make this often & the family loves to snack on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I added 1 more carrot and 1 more celery. Hubby doesn't like pasta or beans in soup, so I substituted with 2 Yukon Gold potatoes. I sauteed the carrots, celery and garlic with a little olive oil just until the garlic is fragrant. I used fresh green beans. Added some frozen sweet corn. A tiny pinch of dried oregano. Some s & p. I served it with grilled cheese sandwich. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I had to double the ingredients and STILL RAN OUT before everybody had their share; Next time I will have to quadruple the ingredients. Everybody went CRAZY over this recipe. Well done Jana Thornton! I am planning on making this again this month for an Easter party with my best friend, her family, and my family together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Best Italian Sausage Soup

Hearty, flavorful soup with Italian sausage, vegetables, and pasta.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States