Italian Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
This was quite good soup but I didn't realize it would be so tomato-y. It was basically tomato vegetable soup and that's not what I was looking for. However it turned out really good, was extremely easy to make and hubby loved it. It made way too much for just one meal and he did not love it enough to eat it for lunch so it was wasted but still, a very good soup for those who like tomato soup with a lot of healthy veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
Easy, healthy and everyone liked it. I added flank steak and doubled the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I added this to my recipe box a month or so ago and have already made it twice. Vegetarians and carnivores both love it. I added a large can of tomato sauce and an extra can of kidney beans. I omit the pearl onions and chop and sauté an onion with the celery, carrots, and some garlic in a bit of olive oil. I leave out the zucchini just because I think it starts looking kinda sad on reheating the soup. If your carnivores insist on meat, slice and cook some chicken sausage Italian sausage in another pan and them have them add it their bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni in Avon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My family loved this soup! I used vegetable bouillon cubes & 12 cups of water to make my own broth in a crock pot. Some things I substituted, like I used whole peeled tomatoes cut up, a can of tomato sauce, fresh green beans, a whole yellow onion cut into quarters, & italian seasoning. I did not use macaroni, but later I added some ground beef & barley and it was incredibly delicious & healthy. I make this often & the family loves to snack on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I added 1 more carrot and 1 more celery. Hubby doesn't like pasta or beans in soup, so I substituted with 2 Yukon Gold potatoes. I sauteed the carrots, celery and garlic with a little olive oil just until the garlic is fragrant. I used fresh green beans. Added some frozen sweet corn. A tiny pinch of dried oregano. Some s & p. I served it with grilled cheese sandwich. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I had to double the ingredients and STILL RAN OUT before everybody had their share; Next time I will have to quadruple the ingredients. Everybody went CRAZY over this recipe. Well done Jana Thornton! I am planning on making this again this month for an Easter party with my best friend, her family, and my family together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
I added frozen peas & corn. Next time I'll leave the kidney beans out. Tasted very good. Minus the Kidney beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JmL
Living In: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I made this recipe but used chicken broth and chicken bouillon. I omitted the green beans because I didn’t have any. And I used mini bow tie pasta and cooked it separately. This was a nice vegetable soup and easy to throw together. One can of kidney beans seemed a little sparse, so next time I’ll add a second can. UPDATE 1/17/14: I made this again as follows: I used chicken broth and chicken bouillon as before, the tomatoes, 1 cup each of carrots, celery and pearl onions, no green beans, macaroni, or beans. I used two zucchini and one yellow summer squash. Great flavor and really low in calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I wanted to leave a review since I just warmed this up for lunch after making it for dinner last night...even better the second time around!! I used fresh string beans and organic canned veggies and added corn plus used veggie pasta instead of macaroni and it turned out fabulous! I doubled the recipe and am so thankful I did since I wil be hapy to eat this for lunch all week long....thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roadrunnerkel
Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Good base soup. Not sure if it was the fact that I double the quantity or that fact that I used reduce/sodium-free canned ingredients (where asked for), but I found it to be rather bland. I double, in some cases tripled the herbs/spices, to get some of the flavors to pop out. Overall, soup was a success both at home and in the office.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Vegetable Soup

See how to make Italian vegetable soup with ground beef and beans.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States