Italian Turkey Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
This was a great recipe and easy to make! I substituted grated parmesan for shredded and would recommend a little less oregano next time around. But they were AMAZING! Great addition to almost any pasta based casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I added an egg white, substituted the bread crumbs with 1/4 cup of oatmeal, and cooked them on the stove top in a little beef broth. I didn't use the tomato sauce or Melt and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
These were the best turkey meatballs I've ever made. I used the fresh oregano, rosemary, and parsley, and I think that made a big difference. I also cut down the crushed red pepper to 1/4 teaspoon which was perfectly spicy enough. I also have no idea what Melt is so I just sprayed the broiler pan with an olive oil Pam spray. I served simply over thin spaghetti with a light marinara sauce and a side of broccoli rabe. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Very easy and very good! This was my first attempt at meatballs. I didn't have bread crumbs so I crushed cheese and garlic croutons in the blender. I also used dry parsley, oregano, & rosemary because I didn't have fresh herbs on hand. I added a dash of worcestershire sauce to the tomato pasta sauce, and baked them on a cookie sheet. They were awesome with our spaghetti! Then my mother accidently overbaked them so I added about 1 1/2 cups of barbeque sauce and we had another delicious meal with rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
The meatballs were very flavorful with the tomato sauce and herbs. I omitted the Parmesan cheese and Melt® Organic Buttery Spread because of my dairy allergy. The meatballs were a little dry with out those ingredients. Next time I'll add an 1/8 cup of olive oil. I used my ice cream scoop to portion out each meatball but they were huge. I took each "ice cream scoop" of meatball and cut it in half and it was still huge. I wish I had used a smaller scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLooWho

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Used jarred spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce, grated vs. shredded parm, and proportional dried parsley, ground rosemary and a little less fresh oregano per other reviewer's recommendation. Very flavorful! The recipe for 1 pound of turkey perfectly made 20 meatballs with my cookie dough scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
These are excellent. I made them generally as written, but with the following minor changes: used Panko bread crumbs instead of italian (only because I didn't have Italian on hand), used chopped fresh basil instead of the fresh oregano but did put in about 1/2 tsp dried oregano so as not to miss out on its flavor, 3/4 tsp dried rosemary instead of fresh, 1/2 tsp regular mustard (no dry mustard on hand). Flavor is great. In fact, they remind me of italian sausage (yum). These did not need a broiler pan....the turkey didn't produce any fat or run-off. In fact, 30 minutes was a little too long and mine were a touch dry. I had scaled the recipe down to 1 lb ground turkey and rolled the meatballs relatively small, so maybe that had something to do with it. Next time I'll start checking them at 20 minutes and see when they're done. I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Used dried herbs -serve over bail orzo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Loved these meatballs. They turned out great and my husband didn"t know they were turkey. He"s used to beef and he liked them. I will definitely make these often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I was making meatballs with gravy so I omitted the tomato sauce and crushed red peppers. Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked Italian meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States