Italian Turkey Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Just made a double batch of these and after testing a couple, I give them a thumbs up. I used dried equivalents of all herbs except for the garlic and rosemary. I substituted pizza sauce for the tomato sauce only since I had just enough on hand and was looking for a good use. The only addition I made was one egg. The only omission was the "Melt", which I've never heard of and feel was unnecessary. These seem quite moist if you don't overcook them. If I basted them with anything prior to baking, it would probably be olive oil rather than margarine. I made mine a little larger so they took longer and were done at 375F because my oven is notoriously too hot. I cooked them on parchment to protect my good cookie sheets. I plan to freeze these immediately, wrapped tightly in meal-sized packets using Glad Press-n-Seal. They're great to add to a quick pasta meal or to use as an appetizer when time runs short. They're also much healthier for you than the flavorless, spongy, who-knows-what's-in-it things you get frozen from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vikingprinsesse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
There wasn't anything wrong with these, in fact they were nice and moist, but I found the flavor to be lacking quite a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
These were awesome. I used ground turkey breast and a mix of fresh herbs (rosemary and oregano) and dried, just based on what I had on hand and in the garden. Otherwise, followed the recipe exactly, except I just spayed my baking pan with olive oil PamI made mine on the bigger size - about golfball size and they did not dry out at all. Great flavor and texture. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Very easy and delicious. I had all the ingredients in the house except the fresh spices, so I subbed in dried ones and they came out so good. My family doesn't usually like turkey, but they all loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Made these just as recipe instructed minus the Melt. Excellent meatballs. Dropped temp just tad while cooking to 385° and cooked until internal temp of 180-190 was reached, about 30min. Kids ate them up with only compliments. Now this recipe' s a keeper and plan to make often as much healthier than traditional meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I just made them! Wow!! I cut the recipe in half, as there are only two of us. I used fresh herbs and they are just fantastic. I did not use Melt organic buttery spread. I baked them in a cookie sheet on top of small racks sprayed with canola spray. Absolutely delicious!! I will freeze some and believe me will make more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Micco, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I used this recipe for my baby girl's first birthday and they were a huge hit. Perfectly moist and flavorful. I had different sauces set up for people to dip their meatballs in but the sauces were unnecessary. These were the best meatballs I ever made and this will definitely be my go to recipe when I make them again. Thanks so much for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
These are prefect. Combine them with the meatball sub recipe on here and you have perfection that's healthy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
These were delicious! Very flavourful and moist, stayed together nicely. I used pasta sauce because I didn't have tomato sauce. Omitted peppers for the kids. Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D&N Q.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
Totally delicious and easy-to-make meatballs & a flexible recipe that you can adapt or modify based on your taste and/or the ingredients you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Italian Meatballs

See the secret to tender baked meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States