Italian Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This was so good! The only change I made was the plum tomatoes. I didnt have any so I used a small can of diced tomatoes (drained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Simply delicious! I made this for a ladies lunch. Not many of us like zucchini so I substituted a bit of fresh spinach for it. (Though you should add the spinach late, for around five minutes of cooking time to retain its freshness.) I also added a sprig of fresh rosemary since I had it on hand. The soup was an instant hit! Thanks for the yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
This one's a keeper! I might omit zucchini next time, it got too soggy... maybe just cut them thicker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aWe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Loved this, tho’ I did improvise somewhat (and once I tinkered with it a 5-star soup). I detested carrots as a kid and still do – and I detest the sweetness they lend to stocks and soups, so I left them out. I didn’t cook the celery and onion in the broth itself, but instead sweated them in some olive oil and added minced garlic. For the broth I preferred beef to chicken for its heartier flavor, and I just happened to have some homemade in the freezer that I had made with the bones of a prime rib roast – and the bits of beef in it were nice in this soup. I omitted the thyme, and frankly used no other seasoning than a good glug of red wine and a finish of freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano at the end. Sure, additional or different vegetables could be used, but I enjoyed the simplicity of just the zucchini and plum tomatoes (if you can’t find red-ripe ones, DO use a good canned tomato instead for best flavor). I had the cutest little teeny squash-filled ravioli (from Italy) and used that instead of the tortellini. As for the beans, I used the more fitting, in my humble opinion, cannellini beans (white kidney beans) rather than the red. This was excellent and unbelievably prepared in the time it took to boil the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This was very tasty! I substituted one bag of mixed frozen soup vegetables for all the veggies listed, and didn't add tomatoes. I also added fresh spinach and Italian seasoning. I made it for a "soup day" at work and it was all gone in 20 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Harte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henley, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Made just as written. It was quite tasty but missing a bit of zing. I think some ground mild Italian sausage would add the kick it is missing. I added white pepper to my servings and that helped a bit. Very hearty and comforthing! One hint--I cook the tortellini in a separate pot--that helps it from absorbing so much of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHELLEMTOO
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This soup sure puts the one I made last time to shame. My tortellini soup was basically broth and torts. The beans give it a nice pasta-fazooool taste to it. I had no celery. I had no onions. I DID have bell peppers, which gave it the celery crunch, and I had onion flakes. I also added the rosemary, and basil, and oregano. Couldn't help myself. You could smell it all the way upstairs. Mmmmm. Hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLEMTOO

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Add some fried bulk italian sausage to this!! UMMM..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was wonderful! I didn't have thyme, so I added some italian seasoning, orageno, garlic salt, salt and pepper (all to taste). I also included a pound of italian turkey sausage. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
My husband likes one dish meals, I like easy to make meals, so this really made both of us happy! I couldn't find decent tomatoes, so used a cup of canned, diced. I will definitely make this a regular for us. C39r49
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States