Italian Tortellini Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I just made this dish tonight for dinner for myself and my mother, and in short the entire house helped us to eat this. It was so flavorful! If only I had known, I would have made a double batch. The next time I make this I will lessen the kidney beans. I just learned that I don't really care for them. I did add some fresh spinach to the soup as I read from another AR cook that it was a nice addition, she was right. I also used vegetable broth instead of chicken as I am transitioning to a vegetarian lifestyle. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nedra Cohen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
I didn't follow the recipe exact and I usually don't rate them if I do this but I was close enough to it that I can give my opinion. I used italian seasoning instead of thyme, no kidney beans but added chicken for protein, 1 can diced tomatoes instead of fresh, and no zucchini. I sauted the onion with the garlic and celery first to mix flavors then added the other ingredients. It was a good pretty quick dinner. Adding the cooked chicken I think enhanced it to be a heartier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Did I do something wrong? I followed the recipe exactly and it was so bland except the tortellini itself. Perhaps a different broth could have helped, but I used a lower sodium healthy one like the one in the recipe. Very disappointed... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
this soup was soooo good. I made a few changes the second time around and I loved it this way... I used 8 C. chicken broth, I left out the zucchini and added 3 hot Italian sausage (casing's removed and it was very spicy, so if you don't like spicy use some sweet sausage for the hot) and added fresh spinach when there was only 5 minutes of cook time left...DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
A sure hit with the family. I two omited the zucchini just exra tomato's, small tomato sauce, italian season. Found out more coming for dinner so just dumped more broth crushed tomato's and also added the italian sausage. This is a keeper. Anyone know how well this freezes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Made just as written. It was quite tasty but missing a bit of zing. I think some ground mild Italian sausage would add the kick it is missing. I added white pepper to my servings and that helped a bit. Very hearty and comforthing! One hint--I cook the tortellini in a separate pot--that helps it from absorbing so much of the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Very delicious! I just made a couple changes. I didn't put zuchini in it because I simply don't like it. I added a can of tomatoe sauce for a heartier broth. I also added a couple of boiled chicken breasts. It was so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reynata

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Good, not great. Pretty easy prep, though chopping takes forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was very good, I used beef broth instead of chicken because that is what I had as well as great northern beans instead of kidney...it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
We really enjoyed this soup. I don't know about anyone else but I had to add 4 more cups chicken broth that I just made from bullion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage Soup with Tortellini

This traditional, hearty soup is a meal all by itself.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States