Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
We had an Italian dinner theme for a family reunion and this spread was a big hit. Several asked for the recipe. It was delicious and easy to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is dynamite! I made a half-batch with only 3 slices of provolone - I thought I had more when I started. I used 4 cloves of roasted garlic for 8 oz. of cream cheese. (That cheese could stand alone as a spread.) I didn't have any cheesecloth, but I used a small springform pan that was the exact size of the slice of provolone. I brushed pita bread with oil, sprinkled w/ salt and pepper and Italian seaoning, lightly toasted and cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this for an anniversary party for my parents, and everyone loved it. I sprinkled some pine nuts between the tomato and provolone layers, just because I love pine nuts with basil and sun dried tomato. This was so easy that my husband even made it a few weeks later for a work potluck. It must have been a hit, because he came home with an empty plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This is a beautiful presentation. I always get asked for the recipe. If you have left overs warm it up in a sauce pan add a little milk or cream to help soften and turn it into a sauce to be ejoyed over pasta! It is Delicious:) You will be very happy you tried this recipe! Thank you Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is ALWAYS a hit at any gathering! I have sent this recipe out a dozen times this holiday season! No one will be disappointed. The only thing I do different is to put the sundried tomatoes in the food process for easier chopping. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I loved this, but then I love pesto anything. I used a roasted red pepper/olive tapenade instead of the sun-dried tomatoes, since that's what I had. Served with crostini and crackers. I made a red pepper and parsley leaf "flower" in the bottom of the bowl before I started layering. Pretty impressive to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The presentation was beautiful -- it was so tasty. I have had the recipe as cited at a brunch, and I made it substituting roasted red peppers for the sundried tomatoes. Both were totally delish. I followed a previous suggestion, added some fat free half and half and served it over penne pasta the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miko's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I am giving this a 5 because everyone at the party I brought it to raved about it. I did like it but I eat these ingredients a lot so it wasn't so "new" to me. I used marinated sundried tomatoes because I had them in my cupboard and since I didn't have cheesecloth, I dampened coffee filters and lined the pan with them. They worked quite well. I wasn't sure how the provolone top and bottom would work or look and it worked and looked just fine. I did cut the torte in half when I put it on the serving platter so people could see the ingredients and the colors. I thought a cheese spreader would do the trick but decided to put a sharp knife out so people could make nice, clean slices. Thanks for the recipe and adding to my stash of "yummy" treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Thanks for your recipe. I had nearly the same recipe from Southern Living and when I went to make it (after buying all the stuff) the recipe made no sense - no layering (even though the picture showed it was clearly layered!) Their directions said to process everything all together and put it in a loaf pan! I thought - there is no way that is right!!! You saved the day Elaine! Grazie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
first time at bat I made this to take to an Italian themed dinner party. Raves upon raves. This will be a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States