Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is ALWAYS a hit at any gathering! I have sent this recipe out a dozen times this holiday season! No one will be disappointed. The only thing I do different is to put the sundried tomatoes in the food process for easier chopping. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I loved this, but then I love pesto anything. I used a roasted red pepper/olive tapenade instead of the sun-dried tomatoes, since that's what I had. Served with crostini and crackers. I made a red pepper and parsley leaf "flower" in the bottom of the bowl before I started layering. Pretty impressive to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
We had an Italian dinner theme for a family reunion and this spread was a big hit. Several asked for the recipe. It was delicious and easy to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This is a beautiful presentation. I always get asked for the recipe. If you have left overs warm it up in a sauce pan add a little milk or cream to help soften and turn it into a sauce to be ejoyed over pasta! It is Delicious:) You will be very happy you tried this recipe! Thank you Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is dynamite! I made a half-batch with only 3 slices of provolone - I thought I had more when I started. I used 4 cloves of roasted garlic for 8 oz. of cream cheese. (That cheese could stand alone as a spread.) I didn't have any cheesecloth, but I used a small springform pan that was the exact size of the slice of provolone. I brushed pita bread with oil, sprinkled w/ salt and pepper and Italian seaoning, lightly toasted and cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Thanks for your recipe. I had nearly the same recipe from Southern Living and when I went to make it (after buying all the stuff) the recipe made no sense - no layering (even though the picture showed it was clearly layered!) Their directions said to process everything all together and put it in a loaf pan! I thought - there is no way that is right!!! You saved the day Elaine! Grazie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this for an anniversary party for my parents, and everyone loved it. I sprinkled some pine nuts between the tomato and provolone layers, just because I love pine nuts with basil and sun dried tomato. This was so easy that my husband even made it a few weeks later for a work potluck. It must have been a hit, because he came home with an empty plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
first time at bat I made this to take to an Italian themed dinner party. Raves upon raves. This will be a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The presentation was beautiful -- it was so tasty. I have had the recipe as cited at a brunch, and I made it substituting roasted red peppers for the sundried tomatoes. Both were totally delish. I followed a previous suggestion, added some fat free half and half and served it over penne pasta the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miko's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I am giving this a 5 because everyone at the party I brought it to raved about it. I did like it but I eat these ingredients a lot so it wasn't so "new" to me. I used marinated sundried tomatoes because I had them in my cupboard and since I didn't have cheesecloth, I dampened coffee filters and lined the pan with them. They worked quite well. I wasn't sure how the provolone top and bottom would work or look and it worked and looked just fine. I did cut the torte in half when I put it on the serving platter so people could see the ingredients and the colors. I thought a cheese spreader would do the trick but decided to put a sharp knife out so people could make nice, clean slices. Thanks for the recipe and adding to my stash of "yummy" treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States