Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My first attempt ended in disaster as I knocked the large glass bowl I was using to mold the torte into fell from my kitchen island onto the ceramic tile...there was no rescuing it from the broken glass. I did have enough of the ingredients reserved for a mini-version and was pleased it came out so nicely. I have since just made it again and used paper towels placed on plastic cling wrap in lieu of cheesecloth and it worked fine. I also put it in the freezer for one hour rather than 3 hours in the fridge with an excellent outcome. This is one of those dishes that everyone keeps coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capn Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is dynamite! I made a half-batch with only 3 slices of provolone - I thought I had more when I started. I used 4 cloves of roasted garlic for 8 oz. of cream cheese. (That cheese could stand alone as a spread.) I didn't have any cheesecloth, but I used a small springform pan that was the exact size of the slice of provolone. I brushed pita bread with oil, sprinkled w/ salt and pepper and Italian seaoning, lightly toasted and cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I have made this but add chopped black olives and chopped pistachios....it is one of those things you bring to a party that people always ask you for the recipe! Be sure the provolone cheese is not sliced thick...makes it difficult to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe that I have used several times, all with great success. Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. That is the only reason that I was not going to leave a review. I hate the thought that others will catch on, make and serve it and then it won't be quite as special when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I am giving this a 5 because everyone at the party I brought it to raved about it. I did like it but I eat these ingredients a lot so it wasn't so "new" to me. I used marinated sundried tomatoes because I had them in my cupboard and since I didn't have cheesecloth, I dampened coffee filters and lined the pan with them. They worked quite well. I wasn't sure how the provolone top and bottom would work or look and it worked and looked just fine. I did cut the torte in half when I put it on the serving platter so people could see the ingredients and the colors. I thought a cheese spreader would do the trick but decided to put a sharp knife out so people could make nice, clean slices. Thanks for the recipe and adding to my stash of "yummy" treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Terrific appetizer! Served at a Italian wine tasting and was asked for recipe by all! I would suggest scaling the recipe in half for a group of up to 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This is delicious, beautiful, and easy. I suggest using half the pesto though, because the full 8 oz. would be overpowering, I think. Follow the rest of the directions exactly and the end results are phenomenal and just a beautiful presentation. I used a 1 qt. faberware bowl and got a lovely dome with a small diameter, which sat very nicely within a ring of crackers. I did use a food processor to chop the sun dried tomatoes. A pie spatula with a serrated edge makes a great serving tool for this. One of my guests was so overwhelmed by this appetizer, she didn't want to eat any dinner! and everyone else loved it too. I wouldn' t halve it like others have suggested because you're going to want the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
This is an excellent appetizer with a flavor that belies the amount of time that goes into making it. I used mini spring form pans and made three small tortes. Served with crisp crostini, it was absolutely delicious. This would be a great appetizer to serve at an appetizer only party, as it is quite filling. I noticed that some people used sun dried tomatoes in oil and I am very glad that I did not. The clean taste of the tomatoes was a great contrast to the oily pesto. I will definitely serve this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I made this for the first time for a holiday party - it was a hit - made it again recently for a work party. I substituted goat cheese for the provolone, the first time because I had it in the refrigerator and it sounded good, the second time because it really was good! I also ground up pine nuts and sprinkled it over the top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The presentation was beautiful -- it was so tasty. I have had the recipe as cited at a brunch, and I made it substituting roasted red peppers for the sundried tomatoes. Both were totally delish. I followed a previous suggestion, added some fat free half and half and served it over penne pasta the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miko's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States