Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Terrific appetizer! Served at a Italian wine tasting and was asked for recipe by all! I would suggest scaling the recipe in half for a group of up to 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe that I have used several times, all with great success. Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. That is the only reason that I was not going to leave a review. I hate the thought that others will catch on, make and serve it and then it won't be quite as special when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I made this for the first time for a holiday party - it was a hit - made it again recently for a work party. I substituted goat cheese for the provolone, the first time because I had it in the refrigerator and it sounded good, the second time because it really was good! I also ground up pine nuts and sprinkled it over the top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
We had an Italian dinner theme for a family reunion and this spread was a big hit. Several asked for the recipe. It was delicious and easy to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This is a beautiful presentation. I always get asked for the recipe. If you have left overs warm it up in a sauce pan add a little milk or cream to help soften and turn it into a sauce to be ejoyed over pasta! It is Delicious:) You will be very happy you tried this recipe! Thank you Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is dynamite! I made a half-batch with only 3 slices of provolone - I thought I had more when I started. I used 4 cloves of roasted garlic for 8 oz. of cream cheese. (That cheese could stand alone as a spread.) I didn't have any cheesecloth, but I used a small springform pan that was the exact size of the slice of provolone. I brushed pita bread with oil, sprinkled w/ salt and pepper and Italian seaoning, lightly toasted and cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Thanks for your recipe. I had nearly the same recipe from Southern Living and when I went to make it (after buying all the stuff) the recipe made no sense - no layering (even though the picture showed it was clearly layered!) Their directions said to process everything all together and put it in a loaf pan! I thought - there is no way that is right!!! You saved the day Elaine! Grazie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Very easy and it looks like I fussed. Red and green layering are perfect for a Christmas get together. It went very fast at the party I took it to and I got several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this for an anniversary party for my parents, and everyone loved it. I sprinkled some pine nuts between the tomato and provolone layers, just because I love pine nuts with basil and sun dried tomato. This was so easy that my husband even made it a few weeks later for a work potluck. It must have been a hit, because he came home with an empty plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
first time at bat I made this to take to an Italian themed dinner party. Raves upon raves. This will be a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States