Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2001
Terrific appetizer! Served at a Italian wine tasting and was asked for recipe by all! I would suggest scaling the recipe in half for a group of up to 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This is a fantastic recipe that I have used several times, all with great success. Everyone loves it and asks for the recipe. That is the only reason that I was not going to leave a review. I hate the thought that others will catch on, make and serve it and then it won't be quite as special when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2002
I made this for the first time for a holiday party - it was a hit - made it again recently for a work party. I substituted goat cheese for the provolone, the first time because I had it in the refrigerator and it sounded good, the second time because it really was good! I also ground up pine nuts and sprinkled it over the top - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
We had an Italian dinner theme for a family reunion and this spread was a big hit. Several asked for the recipe. It was delicious and easy to prepare, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
This is a beautiful presentation. I always get asked for the recipe. If you have left overs warm it up in a sauce pan add a little milk or cream to help soften and turn it into a sauce to be ejoyed over pasta! It is Delicious:) You will be very happy you tried this recipe! Thank you Elaine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2003
This is dynamite! I made a half-batch with only 3 slices of provolone - I thought I had more when I started. I used 4 cloves of roasted garlic for 8 oz. of cream cheese. (That cheese could stand alone as a spread.) I didn't have any cheesecloth, but I used a small springform pan that was the exact size of the slice of provolone. I brushed pita bread with oil, sprinkled w/ salt and pepper and Italian seaoning, lightly toasted and cut into triangles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
Thanks for your recipe. I had nearly the same recipe from Southern Living and when I went to make it (after buying all the stuff) the recipe made no sense - no layering (even though the picture showed it was clearly layered!) Their directions said to process everything all together and put it in a loaf pan! I thought - there is no way that is right!!! You saved the day Elaine! Grazie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Very easy and it looks like I fussed. Red and green layering are perfect for a Christmas get together. It went very fast at the party I took it to and I got several requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I made this for an anniversary party for my parents, and everyone loved it. I sprinkled some pine nuts between the tomato and provolone layers, just because I love pine nuts with basil and sun dried tomato. This was so easy that my husband even made it a few weeks later for a work potluck. It must have been a hit, because he came home with an empty plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Steidl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
first time at bat I made this to take to an Italian themed dinner party. Raves upon raves. This will be a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States