Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
A big hit and the perfect starter for our Italian dinner last night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This is a 5+ recipe. After serving it to friends as an appetizer, my husband declared, "it's more than a do over; it needs to be a refridgerator staple". That says it all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
this was amazing, the hit of the party! The flavors blended so well together, I am sure I added more than 3 oz of the tomatoes, but just eyeballed that part so it would be enough for both layers. After plating it I wish I had bought an extra slice of the provolone to make some sort of design for the top before I started the layering, seemed kinda naked on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koriekiss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
My first attempt ended in disaster as I knocked the large glass bowl I was using to mold the torte into fell from my kitchen island onto the ceramic tile...there was no rescuing it from the broken glass. I did have enough of the ingredients reserved for a mini-version and was pleased it came out so nicely. I have since just made it again and used paper towels placed on plastic cling wrap in lieu of cheesecloth and it worked fine. I also put it in the freezer for one hour rather than 3 hours in the fridge with an excellent outcome. This is one of those dishes that everyone keeps coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capn Matt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was a HUGE hit! I had an italian themed dinner party and I made this as an appetizer. I wanted to make crostini to go with it, but with everything else going on, I didn't have time so we settled with wheat thins crackers. Delicious! I did not have cheesecloth and I tried the coffee filter thing as another reviewer had tried. I found the filter helped get this out of the pan but once I inverted it onto a plate I just covered it with a paper towel and changed the towel every so often as needed. It did a great job soaking up the oils. I halved the recipe and put this in a mini loaf pan for the mold. I'm sure this will be requested again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bizzymomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
I am giving this a 5 because everyone at the party I brought it to raved about it. I did like it but I eat these ingredients a lot so it wasn't so "new" to me. I used marinated sundried tomatoes because I had them in my cupboard and since I didn't have cheesecloth, I dampened coffee filters and lined the pan with them. They worked quite well. I wasn't sure how the provolone top and bottom would work or look and it worked and looked just fine. I did cut the torte in half when I put it on the serving platter so people could see the ingredients and the colors. I thought a cheese spreader would do the trick but decided to put a sharp knife out so people could make nice, clean slices. Thanks for the recipe and adding to my stash of "yummy" treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
The presentation was beautiful -- it was so tasty. I have had the recipe as cited at a brunch, and I made it substituting roasted red peppers for the sundried tomatoes. Both were totally delish. I followed a previous suggestion, added some fat free half and half and served it over penne pasta the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miko's Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
This is ALWAYS a hit at any gathering! I have sent this recipe out a dozen times this holiday season! No one will be disappointed. The only thing I do different is to put the sundried tomatoes in the food process for easier chopping. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I changed this up a little. I took 1 block of cream cheese and mixed it with sun dried tomato pesto (store bought). I put the cream cheese/pesto mixture into a small loaf pan and layered with goat cheese. I baked it for about 20 minutes and then put it in the refrigerator. We ate it cold from the refrigerator on wheat things. very good and used stuff I had on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke789

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
I loved this, but then I love pesto anything. I used a roasted red pepper/olive tapenade instead of the sun-dried tomatoes, since that's what I had. Served with crostini and crackers. I made a red pepper and parsley leaf "flower" in the bottom of the bowl before I started layering. Pretty impressive to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States