Italian Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Guests raved about this. They were surprised that I had made it myself. It is impressive. Only one problem: the provolone slices are slippery and the layers fall apart. It was hard for guests to manage to get it on the crackers. It's kind of a struggle, and rather messy. But very tasty and impressive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
This is a delicious and unique presentation to this combination of ingredients. I used jarred garlic pesto so was glad I used only half of what was called for in this recipe... and also glad I put only the one clove of garlic in the 16 oz of cream cheese that was called for. I served it with big stone wheat crackers and used a serrated pie cutter. It was a messy process and that is my reason for knocking it down to a 4 star. I'm not real sure how to improve on that mess-factor. Maybe using these same ingredients but small cheese-bottom layered with the pesto/cream cheese/tomato combo that can be placed on a cracker or not. And, though I'm a garlic-lover, I think I'll make my own pesto next time and cut back on the amount of garlic over-all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann in NC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I made this for a party and it certainly tasted very good... unfortunately, I find that anything with pesto always looks like I already ate it, so there weren't a lot of people brave enough to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This was delicious. The crowd loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
Not bad by any means, but if you want to wow your guests try another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Made this for our card party and every one loved it. I used paper towels instead of the cheese cloth and it turned out great. Im not into measuring to much so I used what I thought was good, and it still turned out great. I did a design on the top before I layered the contents in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by taag4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was awesome and SO pretty! I used fresh provolone from the deli and bought a couple extra pieces to add some pretty holiday cut outs on top. The only thing I wish I would've done differently was to buy the refridgerated pesto instead of the jar/aisle pesto. It was too oily to work with while I was making it but it still turned out delicious and so so so pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Easy, and beautiful. Looks like you bought it. Makes a lot. I halved it and it still big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made this for a pot luck. It was the first dish to be cleaned out, and I got a lot of requests for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brent k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This was so easy to make and everyone loved it! It is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Torte

This chocolate torte melts in your mouth and is perfect with a glass of milk!

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States