Italian Ties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2001
My friend back in grade school always had these because her mom made them and I've always remembered them. I've been looking for the recipe all over the place. Glad I found it because these are delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Thank you so much! I made these all the time when I was young and lost the recipe in all our moves. Thank you for placing this on the internet. I have missed them so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
My grandmother used to make these every Christmas and I miss them. She used to decorate them with red & green round sprinkles and then drizzled them with honey. YUMMMMM! She called them "Honey Ribbons."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
My nana always made these at Christmas, but I've never had the recipe. I haven't had them since she died suddenly 13 years ago. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. You made my Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2004
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS! My grandmother has been telling me about these cookies for years. She never knew the name or the recipe.Her mother used to maked them all the time (She died when my grandmother was a child). I am going to make these for her for Christmas, I cant wait to suprise her!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2005
Not nearly enough liquid ingredients to make a dough (all I got was slightly less dry flour). I added milk & doubled the butter to make a dough. After that, the cookies came out OK. Still looking for a better recipe for these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Thank you for posting this recipe! My italian grandmother used to make these every Christmas and (although I don't know the spelling) called them "sko-wheelies". She tied them differently, however. Take the rectangular piece of rolled out dough and make a cut down the center (leaving about an inch or more uncut at each end). Then take one end and put it through the center cut to the other side so that it looks twisted in the middle. She also used a pasta machine to flatten out the dough (since she made it in mass quantities!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
My grandma used to do these with struffoli dough- ribbons with the slit in the center and one end pulled through. She would coat them in warmed honey and sprinkles, and serve them with the struffoli as "buttons and bows".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
I followed this recipe exactly and there is simply not enough liquid. I ended up adding an extra egg, another tablespoon of butter and the sherry before it became dough like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Like the others, my Grandmother made these every Christmas, the recipe was for a large quanity.( her 11 children and their families). She called them fringetti, not sure about the spelling. Her recipe called for fresh orange zest. Now I dont have to reduce the ingrediants to a normal sized batch. Thank you very much for posting. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Pace, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Italian Cookies I

These cookies are simple, rich, and satisfying. The whole family will love them.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States