Italian Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
Not bad! Although a good starting point for an EXCELLENT taco salad, I felt this needed some major tweaking to suit my tastes. To kick this up a notch, here's what I did: a) added a packet of taco seasoning to my meat (followed package directions), a 15 oz. can of (rinsed & drained) kidney beans, a small can of sliced black olives, a pint of (halved) grape tomatoes and a bunch of chopped green onions, b) subbed Mexican-blend cheese for the cheddar / mozzarella called for and c) used nacho flavored Doritos in lieu of plain tortilla chips (I'll try Frito's corn chips next time...). My last change was allowing my meat to cool slightly BEFORE mixing it with everything else (FYI, warm meat will MELT your cheese and turn your lettuce soggy!). The use of Italian dressing was unique and is what drew me to this to begin with, but I will stick with a more traditional alternative next time (i.e. TI, French or Catalina). All in all, this was well-received at my neighborhood block party and a GREAT way to feed a HUNGRY crowd! Thanks for sharing, JOHANNIB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
It's close to my favorite taco salad my aunt used to make but way too bland as-is. It is MUCH better if you add taco seasoning while browning the meat (that's how my aunt made it)! The taco seasoning flavors do not clash with the italian dressing at all, in fact i think it's much better with italian than with ranch. Do yourself a favor and season the meat with at least a half a package of taco seasoning to really make this tasty! Cut the cheese in half, too. Please also add diced tomatoes and black olives if you like those for the best taco salad ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This was very tasty and fresh! My husband loved it too. I used other reviewers advice, and added the a bit of taco seasoning and garlic & onion to the ground beef. I actually left off the italian dressing alltogether and used salsa as a dressing. Umm Umm. My husband actually suggested mixing all the ingredients(besides the lettuce) and placeing them on full romain heart leaf lettuce--like a lettuce wrap-- so I am making this again tonight that way! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Even my picky husband & kids will eat this. I don't mix the cheese or chips in. I make a salad & serve the taco ing. on the side. This way everyone can build their own style taco & if I have leftovers (rarely), the cheese , if mixed in, tends to make the salad mushy & yucky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Not as flavorful as I wanted. I will make this again using taco seasoning and Doritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Saugerties, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Kids LOVED it! I did add a pack of taco seasoning to the ground beef. I've made this numerous times now. I like it when it sits for a long time.(more flavor) Definitely a quick easy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This was tasty and quick! My husband and I both enjoyed it, but I felt it needed a little more, like maybe corn, olives, some bell pepper...but over all it was very good and I will make this again with my veggie add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
have made this twice since i got this recipe last week. Sent it on to all my friends too. We only used 3/4 c of homemade italian dressing because we thought 8 oz would be too much. But this is going to made over and over again in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
We make something similar. We brown chicken, then shred it and mix with taco seasoning. Then in a bowl, layer lettuce, black beans, grated Mexi cheese (not too much), the warm seasoned chicken, chopped red onions and crushed tortilla chips. For dressing, try the Hidden Valley spicy ranch dressing - fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
My Mother has a similar recipe. Try using taco seasoning on the ground beef. It also tastes better if you use Doritos and sharp chedder cheese. You may also like garbonzo beans as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Taco Pizza from Pillsbury® Pizza Crust

Taco and pizza nights come together in one delicious, cheesy pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States