Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2000
This is a tasty way to use those summer vegetables and introduce your kids to polenta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
My family loved this recipe, and it was a great new way to use the squash and zucchini coming out of the garden. I baked my polenta instead of frying it, and I also added the extra flavor of using Sun-dried tomato polenta. Very quick and easy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
This is a really tasty dish and I've made it several times. I recently brought it to a potluck and received many compliments and requests for the recipe. I've used a couple of different seasoned polentas(sun-dried tomato, garlic & herb) and both are equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Yummy recipe! I used Sun-dried tomato polenta on the advice of other reviewers, and otherwise kept the recipe the same. We thought it was very flavorful, especially set off by some good garlic bread. This was my first experience with polenta, and I'm sold now! (we used the refrigerated prepared polenta and it tasted fine to me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This squash bake was a huge hit with my family, even those who don't usually eat squash! I added a few jalapenos to spice it up a little and the result was awesome. The only problem I had was finding the polenta. I finally found it in the specialty refrigerated section, in produce. Wonderful dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Great! I made this with the "Basic Cheese Polenta" recipe from this site as suggested by another reviewer. Even my meat-loving husband liked it! Makes great leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was an easy and delicious summer dinner; we just melted the cheese under the broiler, so the polenta stayed crispy under the marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Made this last night and everyone loved it. My only problem is that I HATE to fry. I will try to think of another way to prepare the polenta prior to baking. The flavors all meld well together while in the oven. I did substitute fresh garlic and sea salt for the garlic salt but that was it. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Yummy and very satisfying as a main course. I'd never had polenta before, and actually had to cook it from scratch, since the closest grocery store didn't stock the prepared version. But the polenta I made was very good. You probably can't put too much garlic salt on it. I will definitely make it again! Next time, though, I will saute the veggies in chicken broth to avoid some of the oil (fat) used in the recipe. I had to substitute Swiss cheese for the Mozzarella because I didn't have any...Yuck, won't do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States