Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Since I find the idea of buying polenta in a tube absolutely unconscionable(you're paying how much for cornmeal and water??), I spent the 30 seconds to make my own and refrigerated it before slicing. The dish turned out very well. I added a bit more spaghetti sauce, and used whatever hard cheeses I had in the fridge mixed with mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I really like the taste of this dish, but it's a lot of effort. Next time I would skip frying the polenta, as it ends up just getting soft again in the casserole (and it adds a lot of unneccessary oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was an easy and delicious summer dinner; we just melted the cheese under the broiler, so the polenta stayed crispy under the marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
very delicious and VERY EASY! i used a mandolin to slice all the veggies. i baked the polenta for about 25 minutes at 350F, which made it crunchy and not soaked with oil. once i placed the polenta slices in the dish, i realized it was going to be smaller than i initially thought. i ended up using a 9x9 glass dish. also, with it being smaller, i omitted the zucchini, but added in some fresh mushrooms. finally, since everything was cooked and still hot, i broiled the finished dish until the cheese was melted. i will definitely be making this again and again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
What a great dish! I followed the original recipe, but with the addition of a few herbs over the polenta before vegetables and sauce were added. I also sauteed the veggies with 3 cloves of minced garlic and some salt, which really brought out the flavors. The taste and texture really evoked a "homemade, yet delightfully subtle" experience. Next time I'll be sure to add mushrooms and make the polenta from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
My family loved this recipe, and it was a great new way to use the squash and zucchini coming out of the garden. I baked my polenta instead of frying it, and I also added the extra flavor of using Sun-dried tomato polenta. Very quick and easy. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Fantastic! To make a one dish meal, I cut baked chicken into strips and laid it on top before adding the cheese and baking. This is also good with the addition of black olives and artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Love this recipe! To simplify things and make this more quickly, I use a vegetable peeler to cut strips of both the carrots and zucchini, rather than slice them. I didn't have squash but decided to add sliced fresh mushrooms. I also used a can of diced Italian-style tomatoes, drained, fresh minced garlice and basil-polenta. This is only the second time we've ever eaten polenta, but it won't be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Great! I made this with the "Basic Cheese Polenta" recipe from this site as suggested by another reviewer. Even my meat-loving husband liked it! Makes great leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I've made this recipe several times now. It's my only experience with polenta, but I've enjoyed it every time. I use sun-dried tomato polenta, a little extra pasta sauce, fresh garlic, and lemon pepper. Reducing the frying time on the polenta keeps it from getting too mushy. Note that it needs to bake for 30 minutes and cool for 5 more, so the total time from prep work to serving is about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States