Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Love this recipe! To simplify things and make this more quickly, I use a vegetable peeler to cut strips of both the carrots and zucchini, rather than slice them. I didn't have squash but decided to add sliced fresh mushrooms. I also used a can of diced Italian-style tomatoes, drained, fresh minced garlice and basil-polenta. This is only the second time we've ever eaten polenta, but it won't be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! We had it tonight and thought it was very good! Added just a little more sauce and about 1/2 onion. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I liked it, kids thought it was OK, but the husband who doesn't "do" polenta didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This is a rich and delicious dish. I didn't change a thing and loved it. I could only find corn meal mush for the next btach and I hope it is as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe. I made this for my in laws who I didnt know at the time hate polenta. Well they used to at least because they both had seconds of this recipe. It is so easy. To save time sometimes I will not fry the polenta but just slice it and lay it in the pan. I also made this for my mother who cant have onions instead we used garlic and it still tasted great. This is a very versital recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CForest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverbank, California, USA
Living In: Ceres, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
I've never had polenta before, I liked the veggies and the chese, but would not use the polenta on the bottom of the dish, didn't really add anything, would be good on top of rice or pasta instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LobsterClaws

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
I've made several Summer squash recipes from this site and this is one of the best. My husband who is not a huge fan of Summer squash went back for seconds on this one and my 3 yr old even ate some. I did not have enough mozarella, so I combined it with cheddar. Yum. We served it w/ Italian crockpot chicken breats for a nice meal. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
We really liked this one. My 16 mo. old loved it. Good use of fresh veggies, and polenta is so versatile. Followed the recipe as is and even enjoyed the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
MMMmm. I just got finished eating this casserole. It was amazing! I did add about a pound spicy Italian sausage for my meat-loving hubby. Also, I am out of garlic salt so I added 3 cloves fresh garlic to the veggies and cooked it with them. I added extra sauce, though I didn't measure it. I just made sure all the veggies were covered (about 2/3 of a 26 oz jar). I couldn't find flavored polenta so I used plain with lots of salt and pepper and some Italian seasoning. I fried each side for a minute or two. We all loved it, including my two-year-old who kept saying, "I like polenta!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2006
I loved this dish!! We aren't vegetarians so I added shredded chicken which seemed to soak up the sauce and it wasn't soggy at all. Highly recommend to get your daily dosage of veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States