Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I love this recipe, but my husband thinks it is too bland. I love the way the polenta and cheese compliment the fresh taste of the squash. I make the polenta from cornmeal and simply spread the mix on the bottom of a greased casserole dish. I think this makes for lighter fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Ooooh Nelly! This was great! I agree that I wouldn't fry the polenta next time. I think I will also add mushrooms to the veggies...Mmmm. In Fact, I am making it again tonight! Yes, thats two nights in a row! That good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Really good. Great leftovers. Didnt fry the polenta, but did bake it first on a cookie sheet for 20 min to get it a little crisp. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I really like the taste of this dish, but it's a lot of effort. Next time I would skip frying the polenta, as it ends up just getting soft again in the casserole (and it adds a lot of unneccessary oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I've prepared this dish for large dinner parties, and even my native Italian friends love it and ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Since I find the idea of buying polenta in a tube absolutely unconscionable(you're paying how much for cornmeal and water??), I spent the 30 seconds to make my own and refrigerated it before slicing. The dish turned out very well. I added a bit more spaghetti sauce, and used whatever hard cheeses I had in the fridge mixed with mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Love this recipe! To simplify things and make this more quickly, I use a vegetable peeler to cut strips of both the carrots and zucchini, rather than slice them. I didn't have squash but decided to add sliced fresh mushrooms. I also used a can of diced Italian-style tomatoes, drained, fresh minced garlice and basil-polenta. This is only the second time we've ever eaten polenta, but it won't be the last!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katskitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! We had it tonight and thought it was very good! Added just a little more sauce and about 1/2 onion. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I liked it, kids thought it was OK, but the husband who doesn't "do" polenta didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This is a rich and delicious dish. I didn't change a thing and loved it. I could only find corn meal mush for the next btach and I hope it is as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States