Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was great and SUPER EASY! I did make some changes though to make it healthier. I cut the polenta into 18 peices. Then I seasoned with smoked paprika, freshly ground italian seasoning,sea salt and fresh ground pepper. I did that on both sides and then sprayed both sides with pam. I baked at 350 for 25 min. I sauteed 4oz of mushrooms with the veggies. I also seasoned it with the same seasoning. I chopped up a pkg of fresh basil and added it to the veggie mix after adding sauce. I used a 8x8 dish putting 9 peices at the bottom, 1/2 the veggies, the other 9 peices , the rest of the veggies then the cheese, I used reduced fat mozzerella. You MUST use a good sauce. Using a bad sauce will get you a bad dish. I used emeril's roasted garlic. This is something that I will make on a regular basis. My husband and toddler loved it and it was even better the next day. It only lasted 2 meals though dinner and lunch the next day. Next time I will double the recipe and if you have a big family, you should too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
the only change i made to the recipe was subbing tomato sauce (with the addition of a healthy dose of basil, oregano and garlic powder) for the spaghetti sauce. what needs to happen next time to make this a 5 star recipe is: 1) the bell pepper needs to be sauteed longer--the crunch was jarring, 2) the polenta needs to be doubled--it was hardly noticeable. i can't wait to make again with a little tweaking. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
My family went wild for this dinner! I added ground turkey to make a lovely one-dish meal. I loved all the veggies and I liked it with Romano substituted for the Parmesan. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Very good--The squash is delicious! I didn't have quite enough mozzarella, but used extra parmesan and it crusted over the vegetables very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This wasn't as flavorful as I had hoped when I first tried it. I will add more spices next time. However, when I reheated the leftovers the next day, it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This is definitely a tasty recipe. I gave it a 5 because it was very good, easy to make, and used up my summer squash. Not to mention that it involved deep-frying, and you can't go wrong with that. Next time I'll definitely make my own polenta on the advice of other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oberlin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
Great - easy. I made this without the zuccinni simply because I did not have any in the fridge and it was great. Also added a little oregeno and some baisl to the tomato sauce. Fairly toddler friendly - didn't love it right off the bat but ate a good amount, I think after a few more times she will really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I used sundried tomatoe polenta and added eggplant to the vegetable mixture. It was fabulous. Next time I think I will use a teflon pan to brown the polenta instead of oil and see if that is exchangeable. A new main stay at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Really good flavors, very filling, unique and luscious. I added mushrooms and cucumbers for added crunch, but chose not to fry the polenta (afraid that would make it too greasy / heavy, what with the healthy amount of cheese used here as well.) The texture of the polenta still turned out great -just make sure to slice them thick enough to stand up to the hefty amount of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Delicious... And you could turn it into a south of the border version.. Use cheddar instead of parmesan, salsa or taco sauce instead of spaghetti sauce, and add some mexican spices to the chicken! I'm going to try it this way today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abuela Nany

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldorado, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mijas, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States