Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
A great and different way to use up those abundant summer veges. Hubby loved it and kids liked it so it gets a 4 instead of 5. It made the house smell like an Italian Restaurant-- very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Our familly did not enjoy this. the ingredients all mixed together did not taste like i thought they would
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I've made this many times and just love it. Having a dairy allergy, I omit the cheese, but it's still delicious and full of flavor. I also use fresh garlic instead of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious. To be health conscious I eliminated the mozzarella. I used the entire jar of spaghetti sauce. Next time I will add mushrooms and sauttee the veggies with fresh garlic instead of using garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I combined this recipe with the "Cheesy Polenta" recipe. I know it defeats the point a little, but I did not have any squash on me. I sauteed red pepper and carrots with garlic powder and rosemary, and the flavors worked really well together. I also layered cooked sausage in between the polenta and sauce mixture, so the dish was hearty and really, really good. My husband said it was one of the best things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We loved this dish. Made my own polenta with parmesean cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Absolutely Delish!!!! Brought to a friends house for dinner to go with lasagne. It was a big hit. I also did not fry polenta. Just made homemade and lined bottom of pan with it and sprinkled a little garlic salt and drizzled some olive oil on top of it. I omitted the carrots and added mushrooms. I also added garlic to the vegetable while sauteeing. Very tasty, will become a regular in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this was really good. Instead of using the garlic salt, I used real garlic and sauteed it with the veggies. I also cooked the onions and peppers first so they would be softer. Next time, I will add some chicken breast strips to make it a full meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Not bad, but this recipe is a lot of work with underwhelming results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UGAXena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
This was great and SUPER EASY! I did make some changes though to make it healthier. I cut the polenta into 18 peices. Then I seasoned with smoked paprika, freshly ground italian seasoning,sea salt and fresh ground pepper. I did that on both sides and then sprayed both sides with pam. I baked at 350 for 25 min. I sauteed 4oz of mushrooms with the veggies. I also seasoned it with the same seasoning. I chopped up a pkg of fresh basil and added it to the veggie mix after adding sauce. I used a 8x8 dish putting 9 peices at the bottom, 1/2 the veggies, the other 9 peices , the rest of the veggies then the cheese, I used reduced fat mozzerella. You MUST use a good sauce. Using a bad sauce will get you a bad dish. I used emeril's roasted garlic. This is something that I will make on a regular basis. My husband and toddler loved it and it was even better the next day. It only lasted 2 meals though dinner and lunch the next day. Next time I will double the recipe and if you have a big family, you should too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States