Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
I hated the frying part and in the process said I will never make this again, but....after it came out of the oven.....oh yummy yummy! I will be making this again, maybe bake the polenta as someone suggested. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgina Sikora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Tehachapi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Polenta frying was a mess,lot of oil popping, and it never got crisp, it was not worth the work that goes into it. Too many vegetables, not enough sauce, I added more and it still was not that great. Just a soggy vegetable casserole, will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hood River, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Yummy and very satisfying as a main course. I'd never had polenta before, and actually had to cook it from scratch, since the closest grocery store didn't stock the prepared version. But the polenta I made was very good. You probably can't put too much garlic salt on it. I will definitely make it again! Next time, though, I will saute the veggies in chicken broth to avoid some of the oil (fat) used in the recipe. I had to substitute Swiss cheese for the Mozzarella because I didn't have any...Yuck, won't do that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
Made this last night and everyone loved it. My only problem is that I HATE to fry. I will try to think of another way to prepare the polenta prior to baking. The flavors all meld well together while in the oven. I did substitute fresh garlic and sea salt for the garlic salt but that was it. Will certainly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
This was an easy and delicious summer dinner; we just melted the cheese under the broiler, so the polenta stayed crispy under the marinara sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Great! I made this with the "Basic Cheese Polenta" recipe from this site as suggested by another reviewer. Even my meat-loving husband liked it! Makes great leftovers, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This is delicious, although frying the polenta slices took a while and didn't seem to add much to the overall product. I like fried polenta, but in the casserole it gets soggy anyway. I'm not a huge polenta fan, but my daughter is, so I try to make it once in a while for her. This is my favorite polenta recipe so far. I actually enjoyed it instead of tolerating it like I do with most polenta dishes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKGIRL
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
I followed this recipe "to the T" and it was wonderful! This was my first experience with polenta and it was very easy to prepare and tasted great with all those veggies. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
Scrumptious!!! Try this with the "Basic Cheese Polenta" recipe and "Best Marinara Sauce Yet" recipe from this site. I will make this over and over again. Even my meat-loving husband liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States