Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Just tried this and my husband and I both loved it. Omitted carrots and used about one half can diced tomatoes with about 1/2 cup tomato sauce. A good recipe for a meatless dinner. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
I used my favorite four cheese pasta sauce when I made this recipe and probably used a little more sauce than called for (I did not measure, only added to the veggies until they looked well covered). I did not use the red onion, but added more red pepper in its place. I could not find prepared polenta in the store, but they did have a box of instant polenta so I made that. I did not fry it but just put it in the pan and covered it with the vegetables and cheese. Next time I would make my polenta layer a little thinner, but that is the only change I would make. This was great with some french bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Photo by maiabudnero
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I liked the idea of it, i made my polenta from scratch so it was a lot more effort, i think next time i will season the polenta better, and make it thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I used sweet potato instead of squash. Delicious dish and easy to make on a work night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
I recommend frying the polenta in just a tiny bit of butter instead of olive oil. Polenta tends to soak up the oil and become very greasy - a small amount of butter prevents sticking and keeps the outer crust crunchy. Overall a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
I really liked this dish. My husband and kids loved it! I made a few changes. First, I baked the polenta while making the sauce. It was a time and mess saver, plus made the dish more healthy. I sauteed onion and garlic in olive oil and added some italian sausage. I diced all veggies to help my 1 yr olds eat them and added mushrooms and spinach to the rest of the veggies listed. It was really great. This is the kind of meal where you can add whatever you have on hand. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Sorry, I just am not impressed with this recipe. It's vegetables in tomato sauce poured over soggy polenta and topped with cheese. Am I missing something? The recipe is easy and I am a huge fan of crisp veggies, but really, this is nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Just great!!!! I used less carrots but pretty much kept to the original recipes. The polenta soaked up the juices from the vegetables and when reheated it even tasted better. I think I might try this without the chesses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Definitely use fresh garlic. Super yummy fresh garden dinner with plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This dish was good and healthy! I used a 9x13 baking dish and I believe I should've used a casserole pan instead because the polenta did not cover the entire bottom of the pan. I also might recommend adding some sharp cheddar cheese to give this dish a little more flavor. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States