Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Excellent. Would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
What I like most about this recipe is the versatility. I definintely think the squash is a good idea, but other vegetables can be varied. Other than that, I pretty much followed the recipe exactly. My baby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APCOOKING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
very delicious and VERY EASY! i used a mandolin to slice all the veggies. i baked the polenta for about 25 minutes at 350F, which made it crunchy and not soaked with oil. once i placed the polenta slices in the dish, i realized it was going to be smaller than i initially thought. i ended up using a 9x9 glass dish. also, with it being smaller, i omitted the zucchini, but added in some fresh mushrooms. finally, since everything was cooked and still hot, i broiled the finished dish until the cheese was melted. i will definitely be making this again and again! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trollmother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Fantastic! To make a one dish meal, I cut baked chicken into strips and laid it on top before adding the cheese and baking. This is also good with the addition of black olives and artichoke hearts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I love this recipe, but my husband thinks it is too bland. I love the way the polenta and cheese compliment the fresh taste of the squash. I make the polenta from cornmeal and simply spread the mix on the bottom of a greased casserole dish. I think this makes for lighter fare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
Ooooh Nelly! This was great! I agree that I wouldn't fry the polenta next time. I think I will also add mushrooms to the veggies...Mmmm. In Fact, I am making it again tonight! Yes, thats two nights in a row! That good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Seth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Really good. Great leftovers. Didnt fry the polenta, but did bake it first on a cookie sheet for 20 min to get it a little crisp. LOVED IT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2007
I really like the taste of this dish, but it's a lot of effort. Next time I would skip frying the polenta, as it ends up just getting soft again in the casserole (and it adds a lot of unneccessary oil).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I've prepared this dish for large dinner parties, and even my native Italian friends love it and ask for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Since I find the idea of buying polenta in a tube absolutely unconscionable(you're paying how much for cornmeal and water??), I spent the 30 seconds to make my own and refrigerated it before slicing. The dish turned out very well. I added a bit more spaghetti sauce, and used whatever hard cheeses I had in the fridge mixed with mozzarella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States