Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
A fantastic meatless meal. I made my own polenta, and also followed another reviewer's suggestion to cook the veggies a little more on the stovetop, setting the assembled dish under the broiler to bubble the cheese rather than baking for 30 minutes. We like our veggies a little al dente, and method this was just phenomenal. Will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Dolly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lockport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
This is a 5 star recipe, if you make your own polenta! I highly recommend the Basic Cheese Polenta from this site. The pieces of fried polenta on their own are delicious! Make them into this meal, and it's even better! I omitted the onion and carrots, and added in fresh steamed, chopped spinach. I am going to make this again tomorrow, my family couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
A great and different way to use up those abundant summer veges. Hubby loved it and kids liked it so it gets a 4 instead of 5. It made the house smell like an Italian Restaurant-- very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
Our familly did not enjoy this. the ingredients all mixed together did not taste like i thought they would
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
I've made this many times and just love it. Having a dairy allergy, I omit the cheese, but it's still delicious and full of flavor. I also use fresh garlic instead of the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
Absolutely delicious. To be health conscious I eliminated the mozzarella. I used the entire jar of spaghetti sauce. Next time I will add mushrooms and sauttee the veggies with fresh garlic instead of using garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
I combined this recipe with the "Cheesy Polenta" recipe. I know it defeats the point a little, but I did not have any squash on me. I sauteed red pepper and carrots with garlic powder and rosemary, and the flavors worked really well together. I also layered cooked sausage in between the polenta and sauce mixture, so the dish was hearty and really, really good. My husband said it was one of the best things I have ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by danielleincanada

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We loved this dish. Made my own polenta with parmesean cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calebbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
Absolutely Delish!!!! Brought to a friends house for dinner to go with lasagne. It was a big hit. I also did not fry polenta. Just made homemade and lined bottom of pan with it and sprinkled a little garlic salt and drizzled some olive oil on top of it. I omitted the carrots and added mushrooms. I also added garlic to the vegetable while sauteeing. Very tasty, will become a regular in our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brigette aka Wine Snob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Nice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I thought this was really good. Instead of using the garlic salt, I used real garlic and sauteed it with the veggies. I also cooked the onions and peppers first so they would be softer. Next time, I will add some chicken breast strips to make it a full meal. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spanish Fork, Utah, USA
Living In: Olivehurst, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States