Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Didn't need a whole casserole so I made stacks. Fried polenta and used grill pan on veggies. Sliced and simmered carrots in pasta sauce. Added portabella mushrooms to the mix and goat cheese between veggie layers. Delish. Served with Caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PoisonIvy250
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Really awesome! I used the veggies I had on hand (carrots, squash, zucchini, yellow onion, spinach). Didn't bother browning the polenta in oil before cooking. The flavors were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I had some yellow squash left over from my farmers market basket that needed to be used up, so I decided to try this recipe. It was okay, but not what I was hoping for. I made my own polenta, using the "basic cheese polenta" recipe from this site, which was excellent. I think it was the yellow squash that I wasn't crazy about - which is no fault of the recipe's, just my opinion. If I make this again, I'll probably just skip the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
5 stars for the taste, but I had no luck with trying to fry my polenta (which is most likely because I'm nervous trying to fry anything!) I really wanted the crispiness on the outside of the polenta, so I might try to bake or broil it first next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
I also made my own polenta for this recipe. It was FANTASTIC!! My brother, who is a chef, was very impressed and suggested I make it for our family reunion. I have made it twice and it was gone within hours!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sundae7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langhorne, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Morrisville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Great cassarole! I substituted chopped artichoke hearts for the green pepper and I did not fry the polenta. Just sliced it thin and covered the bottom of my cassarole dish. Served it as a side dish to grilled chicken breasts. Yummy! Definitely will make this again. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri330

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
It was just okay. It could really use some tomatoes and more herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I've made this recipe several times so I'm def. a fan. The first time I made it I fried the polenta as recommended but quickly decided that it was a wasted effort at least for my taste. I just cube the polenta, toss it in my dish and pour the sauteed veggies over it. I don't saute the squash as long as the onion so it still has some bite left after baking and I also tweek my seasonings a little every time I make it. All in all this is a keeper. Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maude s.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I have made this a number of times and it is becoming a family favorite. I really think that frying the polenta adds an essential flavor. To minimize the amount of oil you use make sure you use a good nonstick pan and get the oil (olive) fairly hot. I always use about twice the amount of sauce--at least 2 cups and fresh minced garlic instead of the garlic powder. Polenta is pretty easy to make, although it does add to the work involved in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I agree with baking the polenta. I made this for a dinner party and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanlopez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States