Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Definintely would not fry the polenta if I made this again, added minimal flavor and did not stay crispy with the sauce of the recipe. Otherwise, this was a great way to eat all of the summer squash we had gotten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
Loved this recipe ... so did my family! Easy to make, and it makes great leftovers, too. Instead of 1 cup of sauce, I added a jar of spaghetti sauce. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ivy Kirchberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Oh my god, this is so good! My boyfriend and I just kept saying "this is so good" while we were eating it. I skipped the garlic salt and added a bunch of crushed garlic cloves while simmering the veggies. I also used more pasta sauce than the recipe called for. You could easily do a whole jar if you wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Thought this was delicious. Everything melded together wonderfully. Our daughter, who is 3, didn't like the polenta which is odd because it didn't have a very strong flavor in the dish at all and she ate the other vegetables. Either way it was (mostly) enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is a great way to use up extra zucchini! The only thing I did differently was bake the polenta rather than fry it. Thanks for the recipe, Melissa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Most awesome vegtable dish I have had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Didn't need a whole casserole so I made stacks. Fried polenta and used grill pan on veggies. Sliced and simmered carrots in pasta sauce. Added portabella mushrooms to the mix and goat cheese between veggie layers. Delish. Served with Caesar salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PoisonIvy250
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Really awesome! I used the veggies I had on hand (carrots, squash, zucchini, yellow onion, spinach). Didn't bother browning the polenta in oil before cooking. The flavors were amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PoisonIvy250

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I had some yellow squash left over from my farmers market basket that needed to be used up, so I decided to try this recipe. It was okay, but not what I was hoping for. I made my own polenta, using the "basic cheese polenta" recipe from this site, which was excellent. I think it was the yellow squash that I wasn't crazy about - which is no fault of the recipe's, just my opinion. If I make this again, I'll probably just skip the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
5 stars for the taste, but I had no luck with trying to fry my polenta (which is most likely because I'm nervous trying to fry anything!) I really wanted the crispiness on the outside of the polenta, so I might try to bake or broil it first next time. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Ratatouille Bake

Vegetables and cheese ravioli are baked in a flavorful tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States