Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
Sorry, I just am not impressed with this recipe. It's vegetables in tomato sauce poured over soggy polenta and topped with cheese. Am I missing something? The recipe is easy and I am a huge fan of crisp veggies, but really, this is nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ange82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Just great!!!! I used less carrots but pretty much kept to the original recipes. The polenta soaked up the juices from the vegetables and when reheated it even tasted better. I think I might try this without the chesses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Definitely use fresh garlic. Super yummy fresh garden dinner with plenty of leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This dish was good and healthy! I used a 9x13 baking dish and I believe I should've used a casserole pan instead because the polenta did not cover the entire bottom of the pan. I also might recommend adding some sharp cheddar cheese to give this dish a little more flavor. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktAZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was fabulous! I made exactly as written except I made my own polenta,( it's so easy to make) and cut it into squares, and I also cut the squashes into cubes, for convenience . Definitely a keeper and very easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I really wanted to love this and followed the recipe. It wasn't horrible but just bland. We usually eat our leftovers but this just sat in the frig.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
This recipe is so easy and delicious -- even my "meat and potatoes" husband was singing it's praises! Instead of cooking the polenta in oil, I microwaved the slices for 45-60 seconds, which helped to cut down on the grease. I also put a layer of polenta on top which crisped nicely in the oven. I will definitely be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Yum! I made this as a vegetarian dinner entree. I followed the recipe exactly except that I made the polenta myself on the stove and then lined the casserole dish with it before baking. It is healthy and very easy. It can be time consuming in that there is a fair amount of chopping, but I think it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
this was great. Instead of using tomato sauce, add some garlic, a little more salt, and a can of diced tomato's to the vegetable mixture, and cook a little longer before pouring over the polenta. Also used orange peppers instead of red, turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
So good, easy, and healthy! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States