Italian Summer Squash Polenta Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
I've made this recipe several times now. It's my only experience with polenta, but I've enjoyed it every time. I use sun-dried tomato polenta, a little extra pasta sauce, fresh garlic, and lemon pepper. Reducing the frying time on the polenta keeps it from getting too mushy. Note that it needs to bake for 30 minutes and cool for 5 more, so the total time from prep work to serving is about an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2003
I had a hard time frying the polenta - it seemed to turn to mush - rather than crisping up the way I was hoping. Regardless, the vegetables covered them up - hiding the evidence. To my pleasant suprise, everyone at my dinner party loved this entree and took some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
This squash bake was a huge hit with my family, even those who don't usually eat squash! I added a few jalapenos to spice it up a little and the result was awesome. The only problem I had was finding the polenta. I finally found it in the specialty refrigerated section, in produce. Wonderful dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Yummy recipe! I used Sun-dried tomato polenta on the advice of other reviewers, and otherwise kept the recipe the same. We thought it was very flavorful, especially set off by some good garlic bread. This was my first experience with polenta, and I'm sold now! (we used the refrigerated prepared polenta and it tasted fine to me)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Zebulon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2002
This recipe is a great one for getting lots of vegetables in one meal. I used a bunch of veggies and the sundried tomato polenta. It came out very tasty - my first experiment with polenta and I plan to try it again. My husband & I loved this recipe, but the kids were not so excited about it. They are young (3 & 4) so it was probably a bit too many mixed tastes for them. Next time I may experiment with less kinds of veggies and more squash. I think I would like it with a different sauce instead of the spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyson Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
What a great dish! I followed the original recipe, but with the addition of a few herbs over the polenta before vegetables and sauce were added. I also sauteed the veggies with 3 cloves of minced garlic and some salt, which really brought out the flavors. The taste and texture really evoked a "homemade, yet delightfully subtle" experience. Next time I'll be sure to add mushrooms and make the polenta from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
I thought this needed more than 1 cup of sauce. It also needed more spices, or perhaps a flavored polenta. The lightly browned mozarella cheese made the dish; otherwise it would have been too bland. I'd like to keep it veggie, but will possibly add some sweet or spicy sausage to it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
Basic but delicious. You could do a number of things with different vegetables. I also made the polenta from scratch. I would recommend using less vegetables than required though, as I had far too many for this recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2000
This is a nice alternative for meat lovers who are trying to cut back. I find this dish has a simple taste. If you prefer spicy foods, I suggest adding italian spices, more garlic, dry chillies or a little bit of goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2000
This is a really tasty dish and I've made it several times. I recently brought it to a potluck and received many compliments and requests for the recipe. I've used a couple of different seasoned polentas(sun-dried tomato, garlic & herb) and both are equally as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Easy Butternut Squash Ravioli

See how to make surprisingly simple squash ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States